arena type game

Game Design, Story, Game Play.
User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

arena type game

Post by darksmaster923 » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:43 am

can rf make an arena type games, like respawns for player and bots in a level shooting at each other ramdomly
Herp derp.

User avatar
scott
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:59 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by scott » Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:38 am

yep
*GD*

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Post by darksmaster923 » Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:49 am

WOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!how
Herp derp.

User avatar
scott
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 1:59 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by scott » Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:12 am

im thinking you mean a bit like unreal tornament where you got a small arena and you got other players and yourself.
for this you would create your level, then create the player and enimies, then import them to RF and set the teams to be different this is done in the .ini files and scripting, there was a topic on the forum for setting teams, i havnt personaly done this but i am almost posotive it can be done.
*GD*

User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by QuestOfDreams » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:13 pm

If you mean multiplayer type games, then no, they can't be done with RF yet.

User avatar
psYco
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:55 am
Location: England

Post by psYco » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:53 pm

althoug there is no multiplayer ability as such, you still can make arena games that would have bots and then there should be a way that you could get scores to be uploaded to an online server, so you can compete for scores with other people? Im not sure if this is possible but its just an idea of a way to include an aspect of competition.

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Post by darksmaster923 » Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:44 pm

wat about the respawning for player and bots
Herp derp.

User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis » Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:46 pm

Yes, respawn can be done.
Pain is only psychological.

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Post by darksmaster923 » Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:33 pm

how
Herp derp.

incenseman2003
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm

Post by incenseman2003 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:54 pm

I have done a search for this and cannot find any details in the FAQ, Manual or the forum and there is no setting in the pawn entity for it. I also would like to know how this is done.
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.

User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis » Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:09 pm

It's possible to make the enemy pawns teleport to a certain location and make their health go to full when they die. You could also write a script that checks if the player health is 0 and if so, give him full HP and teleport him to a spawn.
Pain is only psychological.

incenseman2003
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm

Post by incenseman2003 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 6:21 pm

Do you know how to make the pawn teleport to a different place regain health and teleport back? If so could you give all the details on how to do it?.

It doesnt sound like something that I would be able to figure out on my own.
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.

User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis » Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:13 pm

This all has to be done with pawn scripts.

First you need to have a AI script for a pawn.
Let's assume that the first order in the script is called 'Spawn' and the last one is 'Death' ( = when the pawn has played its death animation).

You would then add something like this to the 'Death' order:

Code: Select all

TeleportEntity(self.EntityName,"spawn_point");
SetAttribute("health",100);
HighLevel("Spawn");
The TeleportEntity() command makes the pawn teleport to a scriptpoint called "spawn_point". You would place the scriptpoint where ever you want the pawns to spawn.
Let's also assume that the pawn has a health attribute called "health" and it has a maximum of 100hp. SetAttribute() gives the pawn full health.
And after that the pawn 'resets' with the HighLevel() command, meaning that it goes back to the first order. You could also make it go straight to a, say, attacking order or something. As long as it jumps to an order in which the pawn is 'alive'.

I hope I made sense. :)
Pain is only psychological.

incenseman2003
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm

Post by incenseman2003 » Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:11 pm

I have the death section of my robot entered as below:

Death[()
{
DelTimerOrder(1); // remove alert timer
AddPainOrder("PainToAlert", 0); // remove pain order
FindTargetOrder(0, "FoundTarget", DAMAGEATTRIBUTE); // remove target finding
DelTriggerOrder("IdleToAlert"); // remove alert trigger
SetNoCollision(); // remove bounding box so there are no collisions with corpse
AnimateStop(DIE, DIEHOLD, "");
FadeOut(DIEFADE, 0); // fade out corpse
Remove(true); // remove actor
TeleportEntity(self.EntityName, spawn_point);
SetAttribute("enemy_health",100);
HighLevel("Spawn");


I have a script point set up as follows:

Angle = 0 0 0
NextOrder =
NextPoint =
origin -208 -224 -120
szEntityName = spawn_point




I have a robot for a pawn and it is set as below:

Angle = 0 0 0
Changrmaterial =
ConvOrder =
ConvScriptName =
HideFromRadar = False
origin = 76 -224 -94
PawnType = robot
ScriptName = robot.s
SpawnOrder = Spawn
SpawnPoint =
SpawnTrigger=
szEntityName= robot



When I kill the robot it just fades out and does not respawn.

Was there something I missed?
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay » Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:42 pm

incenseman2003 wrote: Remove(true); // remove actor
You remove the pawn and because of that it cannot respawn.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

Post Reply