New Guy Says Hello

Discuss any other topics here
ChainedFlight

New Guy Says Hello

Post by ChainedFlight » Tue Feb 05, 2013 9:00 am

Hello Everyone!

Wow, that was a bit more excited than I meant it to be. Anyway, I wanted to introduce myself and say hello to whoever may still be lurking around. I'm ChainedFlight, I also go by M., and I just recently stumbled onto Reality Factory after I was struck by a game idea, but had absolutely no experience programming. I've planned out a simple survival horror game called Ascending the Pit, that will probably vastly under utilize the RF engine in terms of level design, but to which I plan on building close to a dozen endings as long as I can figure out how to actually make things work. Again I have no programming experience so it should be interesting to see if I can make it work.

Once I'm able to make the cut brush work in the test game, instead of just the editor, then I can upload the basic level design w/ lighting for people to see (if anyone is interested). It shouldn't take long since I only plan on having 4 basic rooms [One which will be filled with various models as the levels, one which is the stairwell up to the next floor, One starting room and one ending room] and the stairwell has all the functional brushes implemented.

Anyway, I'm still going through the official tutorials on the site, so I won't bother anyone with asking about why a cut brush will show up in editor, but not when I preview the game. I just wanted to say hello and I hope everyone is doing well.

steven8

Re: New Guy Says Hello

Post by steven8 » Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:25 am

Hello M,

To explain a cut brush not 'showing up' in game, it's because the use of a cut brush is to literally cut a hole through another brush. As for a window or a door. They are not visible in game.

I wish you the best of luck with your game. When you get it ready, just post a link and I'll give it a go.

Steve
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

realgaming135