Release Question

Discuss the development of Reality Factory 2
paradoxnj
RF2 Dev Team

Release Question

Post by paradoxnj » Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:15 am

As some of you probably know, I have been working on RF2 by myself for the last 6 months or so. I've lost Andy to carpal tunnel and no one else has time to lend a hand. That being said...May 2010 is around the corner. I have a semi-releasable product...BUT...it is not beginner friendly. My question to the community is:

Should I clean up and release what I have as 0.1 or delay the release to make things more beginner friendly?

What I mean by "not beginner friendly" is the following:

-- There is no editor. Everything must be done by hand.
-- There is no world save format. Worlds are created through script.
-- Some basic functions are not there yet like collision detection and response, different types of cameras, etc...
-- I have not assembled a good toolset
-- There is no documentation

A more advanced user can play with the scripting and get something going but it's not going to do much. Again...keep in mind that I have only been on this project for 8 months and 6 of them have been by myself with only 1-2 hours a day to work on it and extended periods of time where job and family had to come first.
Many Bothans died to bring you this signature....

zany_001

Re: Release Question

Post by zany_001 » Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:30 am

Release it. I can't think of a reason not too. However, don't start an advertising campaign until it's more user-friendly.

Is there no way you and bernie and terry and maybe QoD could all work together on this?
Once I was sad, and I stopped being sad and was awesome instead.
True story.

bernie
RF Moderator

Post by bernie » Fri Mar 05, 2010 4:31 pm

@ paradoxnj, Go ahead and release, you have nothing to lose just don't advertise it.

@ zany
Is there no way you and bernie and terry and maybe QoD could all work together on this?