[Fixed 076] Player falls through platform at 512 texels

Post any Bug Reports here
User avatar
Larryboy
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:31 pm
Location: UK

[Fixed 076] Player falls through platform at 512 texels

Post by Larryboy » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:36 pm

I was building a moving platform which went up pretty high and my player kept falling through it. So I built another one in a test level and made some columns of known height so I could judge when he fell.

When the platform reaches 512 the player (or pawn) simply falls through the floor of the platform. :?

At there limitations with this entity? ( oh yeh... using 0.75B)

User avatar
Spyrewolf
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:53 am
Location: Wellington::New Zealand

Post by Spyrewolf » Tue Sep 26, 2006 8:53 pm

just a thought turn of bounding boxes in debug in the option on the video menu, see the bounding box is too high and hitting the ceiling pushing your pawn back through the platform....

this might give you a better insight to whats going on.

User avatar
Larryboy
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:31 pm
Location: UK

Post by Larryboy » Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:46 pm

I would try it but my computers blown up. (always screw your sound card into the computer chassis - todays perl of wisdom) 8)

But, in my test level, the ceiling was many times higher than 512, it was more like 2000 texels high, so I don't think it was that.

thanks anyway

User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:16 am

I have never had a problem with that entity, and have gone higher than 512. I have not used it in the recent 2 builds, but I will put something together and see if I find anything out.

Oh yes, I really like your avatar, Larryboy, and I like your new one Spyrewolf!!
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

User avatar
Spyrewolf
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:53 am
Location: Wellington::New Zealand

Post by Spyrewolf » Wed Sep 27, 2006 1:40 am

thanks steven 8-bit sweetness :D
in my test level, the ceiling was many times higher than 512, it was more like 2000 texels high
you'd be surprised, one wrong figure entered in and book 9ft bounding box. i've pulled my hair out trying figue out a problem and it was because of a similar thing,

another thing to think of is check your moving platform check where the frames are is there skip forcing the animation to upbruptly jump making the plaform teleport above the player, try delete out the frames and re-add them see if that helps

User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:25 am

steven 8-bit sweetness
I like'a dat!! :D
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:30 am

another thing to think of is check your moving platform check where the frames are is there skip forcing the animation to upbruptly jump making the plaform teleport above the player, try delete out the frames and re-add them see if that helps
Yes that could be it. In an old book for the Genesis3d-Editor (which is almost the same as the RF-Editor nowadays) they wrote that it would be good to have 'smoth-frames' to help the editor in creating smoth animations.

It worked like this:

You have your original keyframes like
0.00 (Start moving up)
2.00 (Elevator up)
4.00 (Start moving down)
6.00 (Elevator down)
8.00 (get back to 0.00->Start moving up)

and then you alter it like this
0.00 (Start moving up)
0.01
2.00 (Elevator up)
2.01
4.00 (Start moving down)
4.01
6.00 (Elevator down)
6.01
8.00 (get back to 0.00->Start moving up)
whereas the x.01-frames are exactly the same as the x.00-frames.

I think it really made the animations smother. Maybe you could try that. I cannot guarantee anything.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:39 am

I read that too. I usually just do 2 or three frames in between extremes. Like:

Start(0.0)
1/3 way up(1.0)
2/3 up(2.0)
all the way up(3.0)
Start back down(6.0)
etc.

It's usually very smooth, except one thing. How do you get it to NOT go a little above the top and settle back down, or go a little below the bottom and come back up?
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:41 am

steven8 wrote:How do you get it to NOT go a little above the top and settle back down, or go a little below the bottom and come back up?

That's exactly what this 0.01-trick is for. :wink:
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 7:13 am

Ah so!! Most humble RF user thank venerable helper.

(I've been watching a LOT of Charlie Chan lately. :P )
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

User avatar
Larryboy
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:31 pm
Location: UK

Post by Larryboy » Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:02 am

Thanks for all the input - but I still have a problem

I have put in some extra keyframes and I have tried slowing down the animation. What was intended to take 14secs up and down now takes 72, and he still falls through the floor at the same place.

I switched the bounding box thing on in debug and the 'blue haze' only seems to come up to his waste - what ever that means.

Anyone else tried it on the latest build ( I think I'm using the Virgil actor as the player)

cheers

User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:59 pm

It is unique to the new RF. I built a level in the new RF and it shoved me right down. I built a level in RF069, and ol ernie went right on up with no problem. I don't have a clue as to why it happens, but it is unique to the new RF.

QOD, we need your help here, I think.
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

User avatar
Spyrewolf
Posts: 450
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:53 am
Location: Wellington::New Zealand

Post by Spyrewolf » Wed Sep 27, 2006 9:17 pm

here's something to mention is the movingplatform quite thin?

if it is try make it a bit thicker, say increase it by 3-4 texels. if it's too thin something might be buggering up and pushing your actor through the floor.

User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:05 pm

Mine was 16 thick. That should be more than enough, I'd say. It is just confusing. It is as though virgil's head hits a ceiling, then he goes into his jump animation to jump to the ground. :?:
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!

User avatar
Larryboy
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 2:31 pm
Location: UK

Post by Larryboy » Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:19 am

I was using 512 thick platforms on my game and you fall inside them.

As an aside

If you have pawns on a platform above your head, and you move the platform up, they all fall through on top of you, which can look quite good :lol:

Locked