[FIXED 0.78.0] Jump Pad Bug.

Post any Bug Reports here
Post Reply
User avatar
Digitalboy
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am

[FIXED 0.78.0] Jump Pad Bug.

Post by Digitalboy » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:46 am

Hey guys.i was trying out the rf demo and i encountered a bug.
In the demo level with the mask guy(defaultname:daniel) there is a jump pad.i stood over it and and it threw me up.i waited and gravity pulled me down again and i went into the ground under the jump pad!any idea why is this happening?

(i know.Horrible explanation!)
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by darksmaster923 » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:23 pm

Wait, so what happened?
Herp derp.

User avatar
Digitalboy
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by Digitalboy » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:27 pm

?? then i was stuck underground and had to reset the level..doesnt it consider as a bug?
Here is a pic:
Image
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by darksmaster923 » Fri Aug 28, 2009 6:53 pm

Restart the app and see if it still happens
Herp derp.

User avatar
Digitalboy
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by Digitalboy » Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:07 pm

it is still there.
Changing video setup,restarting comp,reinstalling RF -all no use.
its not really a super critical bug or something.but i think it should be fixed
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by darksmaster923 » Sat Aug 29, 2009 2:54 am

I'm not really sure why that's happening. Try landing on a platform or something
Herp derp.

User avatar
Digitalboy
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by Digitalboy » Sat Aug 29, 2009 3:14 am

landing on the platform above is working fine.the bug only occurs if i land on the jump pad.
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.

User avatar
darksmaster923
Posts: 1857
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by darksmaster923 » Sat Aug 29, 2009 6:59 am

I honestly have no idea why it does that, maybe someone else can help
Herp derp.

User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Jump Pad Bug.

Post by QuestOfDreams » Sun Sep 04, 2011 7:41 pm

Fixing collision bugs is always a painful task ... Finally tracked down this one. :)

Code: Select all

--- CModelManager.cpp rev 201
+++ CModelManager.cpp working copy
@@ -1936,2 +1936,2 @@
-		if(EmptyContent(pMod->theModel))
+		if(EmptyContent(pMod->theModel) == RGF_SUCCESS)
			return RGF_EMPTY;

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: [FIXED 0.78.0] Jump Pad Bug.

Post by Jay » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:44 pm

Was just passing by and had to comment... This bug was thanks to the antique way of code the RF source is written in... (basically c style - if something goes wrong you pass the user of your function an error number and let them handle it)... thus demanding that we always test for RGF_SUCCESS... (since there rarely ever are any boolean functions)... which can easily lead to mistakes being made while programming because you didn't test for RGF_SUCCESS.

The problem arises because every nonzero number gets converted to true... and that means that any error code you give will translate to "success" in the if statement...

Exceptions or even inside-function-error-handling would be better. However, it is not worth rewriting RF for this. Heck, no. :lol:
I guess this style stems from the Genesis engine being written in pure C. (Also, i don't know how people programmed when RF was written... might be just an "old way" of programming things)
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

Post Reply