weapon crash

Post here if you have problems getting Reality Factory running on your machine. Please make sure you have the latest DirectX installed as well as updated drivers for your video & sound card before posting...
Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

weapon crash

Post by Sudi » Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:52 pm

I followed the tutorial on how to add a simple weapon but RF crashes when i start with the settings.
Take a look please.
inventory.ini
[Gun]
category = weapon
image = mp5.bmp
imagealpha = a_mp5.bmp
text = Mp5

player.ini
[Gun]
initial = 0
low = 0
high = 1

[Bullet]
initial = 0
low = 0
high = 50
usedecrease = true


weapon.ini
[Bullet]
type = projectile
actor = proj.act
rotation = 0 0 0
scale = 1
animation =
gravity = false
bounce = true
speed = 1500
lifetime = 10
boundingbox = 2
explosion = GeneralExplosion
actorexplosion = GeneralExplosion
showboth = true
bonelevel = true
shakeamount = 0
shakedeacay = 0
damage = 10
altdamage = 0
explosionradius = 1
explosiondamage = 1
deacal = 1
effect0 = SlowSmoke
attachactor = true

[Gun]
type= weapon
slot = 1
firerate = 1
category = projectile
projectile = Bullet
attribute = health
ammunition = Bullet
ammopershot = 1
forceviewto = firstperson
shotpermagazine = 5

viewactor = weapons\mp5first.act
viewlaunchoffset = 50 50 0
viewlaunchbone = joint2
viewanimationspeed = 8
viewattackanim = mp5fire
muzzleflash = GeneralExplosion
crosshair = crosshair.bmp
crosshairalpha = a_crosshair.bmp
zoomamount = 0
allowzoommove = false
recoilamount = 5
recoildecay = 1
bobamount = 20

I dont know do i need anything else btw all the bmps and act files are there at least last time i checked.

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:27 pm

check the animation names. remember they are case sensitive and use the names from the .mot files, not what you name them in actor studio. that is almost always the problem when something like this happens.
Check out my band
Tougher Than Fort Knox
Image

Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Post by Sudi » Tue Aug 16, 2005 10:30 am

i already noticed that with the animation name so that isn't the problem...is it maybe bc i didn't specify everything?

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Tue Aug 16, 2005 7:43 pm

ok, check the explosion names and settings in the explosion and effect .ini's for errors. also, Decal is spelled wrong (you used Deacal), but i dont think that would cause a crash.

try saving the settings you have there in a different file, then copy over the existing settings from another weapon and see if it runs. If it works just customize those. if not, then you most likely have a problem with the Actor or the Animation files.
Check out my band
Tougher Than Fort Knox
Image

Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Post by Sudi » Wed Aug 17, 2005 1:45 am

what other weapon i had to make my own setup bc the premade stuff isn't included anymore....and yeah all the effects an explosions exist.
i'm really lost.

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 2:58 am

hmmm........ thats strange. RF has always had example content.

try using this:
;
; 5.7mm armor piercing round
;

[5.7mm]
type = projectile
actor = projectile\proj.act
rotation = 0 0 0
scale = 0.1
gravity = false
bounce = false
speed = 10000
lifetime = 1
boundingbox = 0.1
explosion =
actorexplosion =
showboth = false
attachactor = false
bonelevel = false
damage = 5
altdamage = 5
explosionradius = 0
explosiondamage = 0
decal = 0
impactsound =
and this:
;
; Five-SeveN Tactical Pistol
;


[Five-seveN]
type = weapon
slot = 2
firerate = 0.50
catagory = projectile
projectile = 5.7mm
attribute = health
ammunition = 5.7mmbullet
ammopershot = 1
shotpermagazine = 8
loosemag = true
worksunderwater = true
attacksound = projectile\rockexp.wav
reloadsound = Weapon\reload3.wav
emptysound = Weapon\click.wav
muzzleflash = PFlash

;
; 1st person
;
viewactor = weapon\Five-seveN.act
viewfillcolor = 128 128 128
viewambientcolor = 128 128 128
viewrotation = -6.20 88.20 2.10
viewoffset = 12.70 -9.80 -34.90
viewscale = 0.30
viewlaunchoffset = 0 0 0
viewanimspeed = 1
viewarmanim = arm
viewidleanim = Idle
viewattackanim = Shoot
viewwalkanim = Idle
viewreloadanim = Reload
viewkeyreloadanim = Reload
viewattackemptyanim = Idle
viewlaunchbone = firebone
crosshair = crosshairs\pistol.bmp
crosshairalpha = crosshairs\a_pistol.bmp
crosshairfixed = true
recoilamount = 5
recoildecay = 10
;
; 3rd person
;
playeractor = weapon\psaw.act
playerfillcolor = 128 128 128
playerambientcolor = 128 128 128
playerrotation = 0 180 0
playerscale = 1
playerlaunchoffset = 0 0 10
playerbone = Bip01 R Hand

shootup = slash2
shootdwn = slash1
aimup = slashaim2
aimdwn = slashaim1
modify the settings to fit ur weapon and replace psaw.act with any existing actor file in the media/actors directory.

From looking at this id say its crashing because you missed the idle, arm and reload animations. add these in and what your using should run fine.
Check out my band
Tougher Than Fort Knox
Image

User avatar
wiseman2
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 4:17 am
Location: denver, co
Contact:

Post by wiseman2 » Wed Aug 17, 2005 7:35 am

if you downloaded the compact version from here...you can redownload the full one from several places including my site... I know the rf072demo file here http://www.mapvault.com/uploads/rf/ has all the weapons in it...

I know this doesn't have all the fixes the 072a version has, but you can just copy the weapons, and any other media from the demo, and move them to your install...

Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Post by Sudi » Wed Aug 17, 2005 11:40 am

Thx. i tried to modify the ini like u said and i used the a sample weapon from the demo since my own model just has a shoot anim. anyways its now kinda working...the game starts but i can't use the weapon...it appears in the inventory and it says there i have one of the weapon avaible ...and i typed in the player ini that the initial amount is one so i should have the gun....but when i press the weapon slot key nothing happens. or are the weapon slot keys on the numpad?

User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR » Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:48 pm

the "real" weapon slot is i believe if i remember correctly one higher than the weapon slot you entered, so weapon slot 3 is the 4 key, etc.

at least, thats how it was in the 071 days.

Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Post by Sudi » Wed Aug 17, 2005 4:20 pm

good to know but i tried every number....nothing happend. i'm really lost!

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:17 pm

you might wanna check the control.ini and make sure the weapon slot buttons are in there.
Check out my band
Tougher Than Fort Knox
Image

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay » Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:56 pm

If you can do scripting, you can make a script that can cycle through the available weapons by pressing one single key.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by QuestOfDreams » Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:16 am

check your realityfactory.log file if rf crashes

Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Post by Sudi » Fri Aug 19, 2005 10:25 am

I probably now know why it crashes....i used a wrong sized texture on the actor! so that problem should be solved for now but still the prob that the weapon isn't useable

Sudi
Posts: 128
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:17 pm
Contact:

Post by Sudi » Mon Aug 22, 2005 11:33 am

OK now it cant be my fault in doing something wrong....i used a premade weapon with a premade weapon setup in the ini file....then i only added it to the player and ineventory ini......Rf doesn't crash when starting but!!
The weapon doesn't show up when i press the apropriat weapon slot key...first i thought it just might be of screen so icant see it but i defined sounds so there should be a sound played when u choose the weapon...nothing same thing when i press fire. hope someone nows a solution.

Post Reply