Page 1 of 1

Problem with coversations

Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 12:36 pm
by BigChris
Hello,

Slowly, my project grows (I don't want to call it game yet, because it is not fun to play (yet^^). Now, I was adding dialogs like described in the manual, but there's a problem: When using it, the old answers are still visible, so after two or three chosen options, it is a pretty chaos. So I want to know how to let these old ones dissapear.

Regards
BigChris

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 6:17 pm
by QuestOfDreams
Currently you have to make a compromise. If you want to see the level in the background the screen will not get cleared during the conversation, that's what you are observing. What you can do is
a) use a background image for the area of the replies
b) clear the complete screen (to black)

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 8:25 pm
by BigChris
OK, but wouldn't it be better to use a menu? Just for interest, what are the differences and how to make one?

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:14 pm
by QuestOfDreams
Sorry, I don't understand your question. We were talking about a graphical glitch, right? What has a menu (what menu?) to do with that? :?:

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 4:32 pm
by BigChris
I mean, instead of using "reply" in the script, why not use "MenuReply"? What are the differences?

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 5:09 pm
by QuestOfDreams
When using the Reply method the player will have to select the reply by pressing one of the keys 1 - 9.
When using the MenuReply method the player will be able to select a reply with the mouse.

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 5:54 pm
by BigChris
OK, I didn't know that. But how do I add a background to a normal conversation reply window? Is there any Command? I changed the filename in the Pawn.ini file as described in the manual, but somehow it doesn't help (as in: There is no background).
Thanks in Advance

BigChris

Re: Problem with coversations

Posted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 9:31 pm
by Allanon
Use this command in your script to disable transparent backgrounds:

Code: Select all

TransparentBackground(false);
Use this command in your script to use a custom background:

Code: Select all

CustomBackground(<filename>);