[COMPLETED 0.78.0] Weapons Innacuracy

Post your Feature Requests here...
ZenBudha

[COMPLETED 0.78.0] Weapons Innacuracy

Post by ZenBudha » Wed Oct 26, 2005 2:51 pm

Ok not to harp or anything but this is a major feature lacking that to me seems like one of the easier features to be implemented. I could be wrong as I am no programmer but I would think it would basically involve giving the gun firing code a random rotation variable. Or even better a progressive random rotation variable. That is able to be called from the Weapon.ini

I think I've also realized that programmers don't like vague ideas on things. Like "I want X!" So here is what I believe we need to have a truly fully functional weapons system in RF.

We need something like 3 new values in the weapon.ini
Something along the lines of...
Saccuracy = X
Eaccurcy = Y
ProjNumber = Z

The first one stands for starting accuracy. Which for example set to "0.0" would be a laer gun like we have now. The second one is the ending accuracy or the maximum amount of innacuracy. The third is to tell it how many projectiles to fire each shot.

I'm not sure what the weapons code looks like but basically it needs to generate a random angle offset progessively starting with the Saccuracy and progressing to the Eaccuracy.

Perhaps a fourth variable is need to tell it the size of the progression. So lets say it looks like this...

Saccuracy = 0.0
Eaccuracy = 2.4
Progression = 0.4
ProjNumber = 1

So the code will start with an offset of "0.0" and then on the next loop it will be 0.0 + 0.4 + random rotation. So it will angle the projectile 0.4 degree's and then apply a random rotation out of 360 degree's. Sort of like offsetting the firebone at and angle along the Y plane and then applying a random amount of rotation along the Z plane. I hope that makes sense.