Body Damage System

Post your Feature Requests here...
SithMaster

Body Damage System

Post by SithMaster » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:34 pm

For FPS games depending on where you shoot a character the more damage you do. Like headshots instantly kill, body shots do 50% damage, arm shots do 25% and leg shots do 25% damage. I know you can just attach multiple pawns to a torso for this effect but that requires perfect postioning and what not. I think the method from half life is best where invisible boxes are around the limbs and they detect hits. Im not a programmer so someone else would have to implement this idea. Of course i understand that this feature is not currently key as physics and multiplayer are more important.

QuestOfDreams
Site Admin

Post by QuestOfDreams » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:59 pm

this should be possible with a bit of low level scripting

char* GetLastBoneHit();

Returns the name of the bone last hit.

Post by Guest » Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:22 am

QuestOfDreams wrote:this should be possible with a bit of low level scripting

char* GetLastBoneHit();

That would work, but, unless you stuff your actor full of bones there will be errors. Shoot through the torso to the left and right of the spine etc and no recorded damage. I think thats how it would work, right? I dont know never tried it. I would attach object to player and if collision with bullet then apply damage to player. But thats just me.

MakerOfGames

Post by MakerOfGames » Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:25 am

Sorry bout that, got kicked off , didnt realize it and didnt re-log-in. That last post was from me, MoG.
Think outside the box.
To go on an adventure, one must discard the comforts and safety of the known and trusted.

AndyCR

Post by AndyCR » Sun Jul 17, 2005 5:31 am

Anonymous wrote:
QuestOfDreams wrote:this should be possible with a bit of low level scripting

char* GetLastBoneHit();