RF Level Editor and General Level Building questions

Frequently Asked Questions about Reality Factory and their answers...
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin

RF Level Editor and General Level Building questions

Post by QuestOfDreams » Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:37 am

Q: Compiling- I'm new to Reality Factory and I was reading the compiling information. Is it true that you need Microsoft Visual C++ 6.0 to compile your game? Can you make a game without having it? I don't really feel like buying it either.

A: With RF there are several types of compiling that people will refer to:

1) Compiling levels - this is done from within the level editor, and is a required step to get your levels from the editor to the game. compiling a level calculates the .bsp file for the renderer and precalculates the lighting for the map. If you are planning to just build levels and run your game without customizing the Realityfactory program itself, then this is all you will likely be doing. No Visual Studio required.

2) Actors are compiled with the actorstudio.exe tool, this takes the actors mesh (the 'body' - .bdy file) and the animations (the 'motions' - .mot files) and compiles them into a game-ready .act file.

3) Compiling the Realityfactory.exe application. MOST USERS WILL NEVER NEED TO DO THIS- FOR ADVANCED RF EDITING ONLY. This is the main 'game' application that you will use to run the levels that you have built. You DO need Visual Studio to recompile the exe, but we provide you with a ready-to-go version so you don't necessarily have to. some people want custom features, etc that aren't in the default build of RF, and as such, they must use Visual Studio to compile their custom changes.
Last edited by QuestOfDreams on Sun Aug 07, 2005 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

QuestOfDreams
Site Admin

Post by QuestOfDreams » Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:39 am

Q. There are only a few entities. How do I see them all?