How to make a minimap that shows the player position

Post topics regarding Level Building/Design and Entity Usage with Reality Factory
Post Reply
alisonchan30
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:18 am

How to make a minimap that shows the player position

Post by alisonchan30 » Thu Dec 24, 2009 7:26 am

Hello, this is my first time to post a topic. (but i always look up for RF info in this forum)

I would like to know how to make a minimap that shows player and pawn position and do some updates.
e.g. add a cross to the position after a trigger.

I made a bmp map to shows the level and show it in HUD as a picture. However, I don't know what to do to show
the player position and do the update.

Would someone teach me how to do it?

Thanks a lot for your help.

eloc12
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 2:11 am

Re: How to make a minimap that shows the player position

Post by eloc12 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:37 am

Man, I wish someone would post the answer here. I've been trying to find out myself

Veleran
Posts: 891
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 10:22 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to make a minimap that shows the player position

Post by Veleran » Fri Nov 05, 2010 12:53 am

That is on the requests list,we cant do this yet.

Allanon
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:23 am

Re: How to make a minimap that shows the player position

Post by Allanon » Sat Nov 06, 2010 5:04 pm

You could probably write a script that gets the player position using the self.player_X, self.player_Y, and self.player_Z attributes then convert those coordinates in to your map coordinates by throwing away the Y parameter and scaling the X and Z to your map's scale. Then just draw an X on the map at that location. Also, you can do the same for other pawns using the self.current_X, self.current_Y, and self.current_Z attributes

User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: How to make a minimap that shows the player position

Post by QuestOfDreams » Tue Nov 09, 2010 9:24 am

Yep, it is possible to a certain degree, however, it takes quite a bit of scripting work.
I'm working on an easier solution for this task.

Post Reply