My first attempt at modeling weapons

Topics relating to Modeling with Reality Factory.
creekmonkey

My first attempt at modeling weapons

Post by creekmonkey » Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:44 pm

This is my first attempt at realistic looking weapon modeling. I created an M16 and an M10 mini. These are my own creations, altho I did look at other models to see how the weapons actually looked. The models were created in Hexagon2 and Milkshape and textures with photoshop.

http://hosted.filefront.com/creekmonkey/
Attachments
M16_front_view.jpg
(45.38 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
M10_back_view.jpg
M10_back_view.jpg (27.74 KiB) Viewed 652 times
M10_front_view.jpg
M10_front_view.jpg (27.5 KiB) Viewed 653 times

darksmaster923

Re: My first attempt at modeling weapons

Post by darksmaster923 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 2:32 am

You need to post the wireframe of the model, so we can see how the polygons are set up. Not a bad start for a first weapon though
Herp derp.

creekmonkey

Post by creekmonkey » Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:53 am

Here ya go.
m16.jpg
(45.78 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Attachments
M10_mesh.jpg
(101.05 KiB) Downloaded 23 times

darksmaster923

Post by darksmaster923 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 4:38 am

That looks more like an M4 than an M16. Anyway, what polycounts are you shooting for? Since it looks like the M10 is way more polys than the M16/M4.
For the M10, it looks like you put a bunch of polys into the trigger, but you didn't for magazine. The grip is also blocky, and you can extrude the polys and scale inward.
For the M16, it looks like you didn't put too much polys into the receiver, but in the barrel, it looks like you have extra polys. You can remove those polys and use them to add more detail to the other parts, or you can keep them. But if its for a first person weapon, I would take them off since you never see them, and even for a third person weapon I would take it off since its not supposed to have too much detail.
Herp derp.

creekmonkey