3D objects and models, i need elaboration

Topics relating to Modeling with Reality Factory.
rhardwick

3D objects and models, i need elaboration

Post by rhardwick » Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:48 am

I am new to game design and programming and the such but i do know how to do some 3D modeling. Well anyways, what i was wondering is if it was possible to make models of environments such as grass or hills and have them placed over the BSP for a more realistic environment? I don't really know how to word that exactly...also, how can i import models from caligari's truespace 7.61 into reality factory? I have read the Making 3D Games with Reality Factory book but it never seems to elaborate on both of these subjects. It gave a broad view and definition of models and bump-mapping and such but...as i said, i am sort of new at this. :(
~~ Snickle Fritz ~~

zany_001

Re: 3D objects and models, i need elaboration

Post by zany_001 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:54 pm

You can indeed use models as props or terrain; I would go as far as to say it's a better idea to do the whole level geometry in a different modeling program, and export it to RF.

As for truespace, check the downloads section or google for trueGene, which should convert from truespace to RF formats.
Once I was sad, and I stopped being sad and was awesome instead.
True story.

rhardwick

Post by rhardwick » Fri Jan 29, 2010 3:29 am

ahh cool thank you very much =] so i can theoretically make the shell of my game using the standard rfedit level maker and fill it with 3D models of things such as walls and realistic ground terrain? Like say i want to make a cave with rock formations, i could essentially make a standard rectangular hallway using rfedit then cover the hallway walls with models of rock formations and rock walls so it doesn't look completely flat and polygonal?
~~ Snickle Fritz ~~

Jay
RF Dev Team

Post by Jay » Fri Jan 29, 2010 8:48 am