gmax exporting fail...astudio build fail

Topics relating to Modeling with Reality Factory.
DjPoppyT

gmax exporting fail...astudio build fail

Post by DjPoppyT » Mon Oct 31, 2011 10:47 am

I'm new to modeling, i am using gmax. When i run the export scripts they seem to stop midway and I don't think they are displaying information properly about materials and bones. I got it to fully export the files one time and I tried to build with astudio, but i got errors...

Building 'C:\RealityFactory\tools\gun.apj'
Actor doesn't exist:
'.\BldTemp\pistol1.BDY' out of date. (Doesn't exist)
'.\BldTemp\pistol1.BDY' out of date. (Doesn't exist)
Making Body
Making Body '.\BldTemp\pistol1.BDY' from NFO 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\Gmax model files\pistol1.nfo'
ERROR: no material assigned to face 0, on mesh 'Box01' in 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\Gmax model files\pistol1.nfo' NFO file
Error: Failed to build '.\BldTemp\pistol1.BDY' file from 'C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\Gmax model files\pistol1.nfo' file
Error: Failed to make BDY file
Error: Failed to build body. Unable to make Actor.

Like I said I'm new to gmax and astudio, I'm just going off of what i learn in tuts and FAQs.
Any input would be greatly appreciated

bernie
RF Moderator

Re: gmax exporting fail...astudio build fail

Post by bernie » Mon Oct 31, 2011 1:29 pm

astudio has long been superseded and no longer used by many people. Use Equity to build your actor it is much easier & has much more functionality. Make sure the textures you use are a power of 2 in size eg. 64 x 64, 128 x 128, 256 x 256, 512 x 512, etc.

DjPoppyT

Post by DjPoppyT » Mon Oct 31, 2011 5:53 pm

Thank you for the reply. My original bmp files are scaled to powers of 2, but if i use my modeling program to change the shape to gain the desired coverage and orientation will that alter the dimensions, or is the original bmp the only one that matters because it's for resolutions that RF can handle?

bernie
RF Moderator