Sound and text conversation between player and pawn

Topics regarding Scripting with Reality Factory
Post Reply
compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Sound and text conversation between player and pawn

Post by compiler » Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:34 am

What do i have to add to this conversation script(or somewhere else) so that the players replies would be played too as a sound file?

The other problem i'm having is that the players old text reply doesn't vanish and mixes with the new reply so it is impossible to read what it says in the reply text.

Then i'd like the game to continue normally while having the conversation, and forexample if player says something like "okay, show me the way", then the nonplayercharacter would start walking to a certain destination, play some animation, and then the conversation would continue there.
Any advices are highly appreciated:)

{

jhi[ ()
{
Speak("jhi","hi.wav");
Reply(1,"thiwhoareyou","hiwhoareyou.wav");
switch(Conversation(0))
{
case 1
{
NewConversation("jiamjasmin",true);
}
}
} ]

jiamjasmin[ ()
{
Speak("jiamjasmin","jiamjasmin.wav");
Reply(1,"nicetomeetjasmin");
switch(Conversation(0))
{
case 1
{
NewConversation("jsoyouneedtoknowtheroad",true);
}
}
} ]

jsoyouneedtoknowtheroad[ ()
{
Speak("jsoyouneedtoknowtheroad","soyouneedtoknowtheroad.wav");
Reply(1,"tyeahcanyouhelpme");
switch(Conversation(0))
{
case 1
{
NewConversation("jsure",true);
}
}
} ]

jsure[ ()
{
Speak("jsure","sure.wav");
Reply(1,"tthanksalot");
switch(Conversation(0))
{
case 1
{
NewConversation("",true);
}
}
} ]

}

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Tue Oct 24, 2006 9:42 am

This underlined text was here just for example what i have tried and it didn't work.

jhi[ ()
{
Speak("jhi","hi.wav");
Reply(1,"thiwhoareyou","hiwhoareyou.wav");
switch(Conversation(0))

User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis » Thu Oct 26, 2006 1:47 pm

Well, it works perfectly for me...
Could you post the log file (RealityFactory.log in the main folder)?
Pain is only psychological.

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:29 pm

Okay i sent it to you, you've got mail:D

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Thu Oct 26, 2006 4:33 pm

What the heck, i put it in here too:
Searching for fullscreen driver

Initializing Game Shell...
--------------------------------------
--- Reality Factory 0.75A ---
--- For more Information, visit: ---
--- http://www.realityfactory.info.ms ---
--------------------------------------

Parsed RealityFactory.ini file

Genesis3D Initialized

*INFO* VFS detected (not encrypted)...

Initializing Camera Manager...
Initializing User Input Subsystem...
Initializing Audio Manager Subsystem...
Initializing CD Audio Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Midi Audio Manager Subsystem...
Initializing RF Menu Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Network...
Loading Menu.ini...
Parsing Menu.ini...
Loading Character.ini...
Initializing Menu
Initializing Collision Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Network Manager Subsystem...
Initializing AVIFile Video Subsystem...
Launching Reality Factory Game Shell...
Launching Preview from Editor, bypassing G3d Logo for DEBUG purposes ONLY...
Previewing Level as SinglePlayer Client...
Entering CRFMenu::ProcessMenu
Entering Windows Message Loop, Rendering Game Menu
Entering CRFMenu::ProcessMenu
Entering Windows Message Loop, Rendering Game Menu
Initializing Level: streethouse.bsp
Configuring Camera Defaults...
Initializing Entity Registry...
Initializing Terrain Manager...
Initializing Effects Manager...
Initializing Actor Manager...
Parsing Environment Setup Entity...
Initializing Model Manager...
Creating Player Avatar...
Loading Player Avatar...
Initializing HUD...
Initializing Damage Subsystem...
Initializing FixedCamera Manager Subsystem...
Loading Player Configuration...
Loading Attributes and Player Configuration from PlayerSetup.ini
Loading Environmental Audio
Parsing PlayerSetup Entity
Initialize Player Data
Parsing EnvironmentSetup Entity
Initializing Automatic Door Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Moving Platform Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Teleport Manager Subsystem...
Initializing MorphingField Effects Manager Subsystem...
Initializing 3d AudioSource Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Particle Effects Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Static Entity Props Subsystem...
Initializing Static Mesh Subsystem...
Initializing Soundtrack Toggle Subsystem...
Initializing Streaming Audio Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Video Texture Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Corona Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Dynamic Light Manager Subsystem...
Initializing ElectricBolt Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Procedural Texture Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Path Database...
Initializing Path Followers...
Initializing Rain Effects Manager...
Initializing Spout Effects Manager...
Initializing ActorSpout Effects Manager...
Initializing Floating Particle Effects Manager...
Initializing eChaos Effects Manager...
Initializing Flame Effects Manager...
Initializing ScriptPoint Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Pawn Manager Subsystem...
Initializing ChangeAttribute Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Countdown Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Trigger Manager Subsystem...
Initializing LogicHandler Subsystem...
Initializing Message Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Effect Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Weapon Manager Subsystem...
Initializing FirePoint Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Flipbook Manager Subsystem...
Initializing AreaCheck Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Foliage Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Tree Manager Subsystem...
Initializing PWXImage Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Shadow Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Decal Manager Subsystem...
Initializing WallDecal Manager Subsystem...
Initializing LevelController Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Attribute Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Explosion Manager Subsystem...
Initializing Explosion Subsystem...
Initializing ChangeLevel Manager Subsystem...
Initializing ScreenShake Subsystem...
Initializing ViewSwitch Subsystem...
Initializing Inventory Subsystem...
Initializing Liquid Subsystem...
Initializing Overlay Subsystem...
Initializing TextureMorph Subsystem...
Initializing CutScene Subsystem...
Initializing ActorMaterial Subsystem...
Initializing Armour Subsystem...
Initializing LiftBelt Manager...
Initializing CDSpotlight Manager...
Initializing CurvedSurfaces Manager...
Initializing Fonts...
Preparing to Launch Game...
CRFMenu::GameLoop() - Setup and Run Level
CRFMenu::GameLevel() - Entering Inner Game Loop
Entering CRFMenu::DoMenu()
Creating Camera
Entering CRFMenu::ProcessMenu
Entering Windows Message Loop, Rendering Game Menu
Saving Attributes & Settings files...
Destroying Camera...
Shutting Down Reality Factory Game Shell...
Shutting Down AVIFile Video Subsystem...
Shutting Down Network Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down Collision Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down RF Menu Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down CD Audio Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down Midi Audio Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down Audio Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down User Input Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down Camera Manager Subsystem...
Shutting Down Graphics Subsystem...
Successful Shutdown

Looks normal to me...?

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:16 pm

Okay, if it works on your machine then the problem isn't in the conversation. Maybe i have some programs installed that are incompatible with rf.

Thanks for help Juutis:)

User avatar
psYco
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:55 am
Location: England

Post by psYco » Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:59 pm

Your problem sounds similar to one I had a while ago. Sometimes you can ''break'' RF without knowing it, so sumtimes the only way to get it working again is to reinstall and add those scripts and quikly test the conversation, it might help (but keep a back up so if its not that then you dont loose any work :)

I find its best to just as good practise have several dated copys of the project you are working on that should be kept updated that way if (for me its more 'when'. I break things ALOT) your RF does get messed up you can ''rollback'' if you will, and not loose 3 monthes of work!!!! (its happend)

@allen: was it three monthes? I dont remember now...

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay » Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:15 am

Yes i broke RF many times too, but i get the clue that if you 'break' it, it always has something to do with the *.ini files.

It's important that you always have a couple of blank lines at the end the files because otherwise the '.ini-Reader of RF will screw up somehow and some things don't work. And you could notice this at a COMPLETELY OTHER point of the game! With this tip i got RF to not break a whole year! :)

Maybe there are other things to it, but that's my explanation of it.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:39 am

I have always done like you said Jay, added few empty lines after altering forexample pawn.ini but the problem is still there, replies pile up on top of eachother. Why doesn't it remove the old reply, it's so frustrating :shock:

PsYco, I tried to play your game the school of the dead but my graphicscard couln't handle it and the game froze just before i was starting conversation with the computer :cry: so i couldn't see if the conversation would have worked in my computer.

Yesterday i unistalled RF and many other unused programs i thought might disturb rf somehow and then did a clean install but i didn't get ridd of my problem 'sigh'.

Could the problem be in the genericmelee.s i'm using with that same actor i'm having conversation with...?

User avatar
psYco
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:55 am
Location: England

Post by psYco » Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:32 am

Well im not sure then and it really shouldent do that... :? Well your problem with my game may not be your graphics card (try turning the level of detail all the way down it helps save rendering power) but that conversation with the haz mat PC either works or doesent! Its soooooo weird Ive known ppl who finished the whole game and then said you should have given the player directions to the bosses and I say yeah the PC tells you but every time they talk to the PC it crashes or just doesent work so they just ignore it all together! :shock: But my point is that the conversation thing has given me (and all the ppl here who I endlessly bugged :) ) a lot of headaches and iv come to the conclusion that I dont like it very much

[I know im being unhelpfull and im sorry, I just cant seem to replicate your problem]

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:06 am

I turned detail level to nonexisting all the way far left but with no succes and i tried disable stencilshadows<---couldn't find a way how, and also tried different videosetups but nothing worked and i was forced to stop playing your game by the powers of evil destiny:D

My graphicscard has only 64 mb of memory and cooling fan stopped working about 2 years ago while playing formula1. I have geforce4 ti 4200 with agp8x, this is the third same model G-card i have, 2 previous broke the same way, cooler fan died 2 times within a year so i got a new one for free untill the 1 year guarantee ended, so the next one i buy will be different model :evil:

Um...you are being helpfull, it helps a lot to hear that i'm not the only 1 having problems with the conversation script
:wink:

I wish someone could tell how to have sound+textconversations while the game is running because i have no clue how to do that.

User avatar
psYco
Posts: 782
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 10:55 am
Location: England

Post by psYco » Fri Oct 27, 2006 6:14 pm

@compiler: Ah I see, thatll be my fault... I made sum of the bosses textures 32MBs alone so your gfx card would have heartfailure if you tried... My friend allen still makes fun of my blatent disregard for reason and most of all rendering! LOL

compiler
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:34 pm

Post by compiler » Sat Oct 28, 2006 5:46 am

Ok, now i know why my frame rate was from 0 to 5 when playing your game psYco coz i met 1 of your bosses, i don't know how i got in there but suddenly after quickload i was next to this huge monster and i had minigun and about thousand zombies were marching towards me so i wasn't able to get a good look at the boss and then the game crashed again:P I would buy a new gfx card and pc but i don't have that kind of money right now so i'm unable to finish your game unless you make a lite version of it:D
BTW, nice game menu, really loved the crasping hand and the soundeffects!

santipi
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:22 pm

Re: Sound and text conversation between player and pawn

Post by santipi » Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:46 pm

i know is an old post but is the same problem i have, the reply stay there messing up, according to the manual you have to add a phew lines in the script but doesnt seem to respond, any idea :( .

Post Reply