script

Topics regarding Scripting with Reality Factory
User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by QuestOfDreams » Sun Jul 10, 2005 10:57 pm

sorry to go off topic, but we have a lot of new script commands like this and no docs for them. is there any way we could get a list of the new commands added since 071 into the docs? cause if no one knows its there its kinda pointless to have them.
exactly what I'm doing right now :wink:
I've updated the scripting docs but want to check the rest of the docs before I upload the new version; just a few days away

rgdyman
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:05 am

Post by rgdyman » Sun Jul 10, 2005 11:37 pm

Thank you Quest!! :lol:

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Mon Jul 11, 2005 5:10 am

thanks Quest, this will help a bundle! :)

User avatar
jonas
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by jonas » Tue Jul 12, 2005 12:21 am

I want to try your script rgdyman! Could you email it to me? I also have wanted a cheat entry thingy but couldn't figure out how to get it to work in the menu! So do you have to push a certian key for it to come up?
Last edited by jonas on Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Jonas

Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack

revolutiongames2004
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by revolutiongames2004 » Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:12 am

sure give it to me too
thanx

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Jul 12, 2005 1:08 pm

This is how you define an array in an RF script (072A only)

STRIKES
{
{
ANIM[Stri_Jab]
HITDELAY[0.61]
PAINANIM[selling_weakHead_strikeFront]
SOUND[se_strike_hit01.wav]
DIST[48]
DAMAGE[0]
BODYPART[0]
}
{
ANIM[Stri_Low_Kick]
HITDELAY[0.33]
PAINANIM[selling_weakTorso_strikeFront]
SOUND[vo_m3_gethit1.wav]
DIST[64]
DAMAGE[0]
BODYPART[0]
}
{
ANIM[Stri_Straight_Punch]
HITDELAY[0.28]
PAINANIM[selling_strongHead_strikeFront]
SOUND[se_strike_hit02.wav]
DIST[48]
DAMAGE[0]
BODYPART[0]
}
}

Data is accessed as so:

STRIKES[0].ANIM
STRIKES[1].SOUND
etc...


Build an array of keyboard returns. For example:

STRIKES[self.key_pressed].ANIM

You can limit the size of the array by checking for the input range first. (ie. keys 26-55.)

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Tue Jul 12, 2005 3:51 pm

jonas wrote:I want to try your script GD1! Could you email it to me? I also have wanted a cheat entry thingy but couldn't figure out how to get it to work in the menu! So do you have to push a certian key for it to come up?
uhhh...... ok maybe i'm just really tired today, but im drawing a blank about what script you want. maybe i need some coffee.

User avatar
jonas
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by jonas » Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:10 pm

I looked up and saw your name so I guess I just entered it! I ment rgdyman! My bad!
Jonas

Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack

GD1
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 2:33 pm

Post by GD1 » Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:49 pm

no problem :)

rgdyman
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:05 am

Post by rgdyman » Tue Jul 12, 2005 9:32 pm

Ok.

If you use " Spawn " as the starting order you'll only be able
to type in a command once.

You need a trigger called "CHAT " In order to loop.

I havnt had alot of time to test this that much.

If you find a Hic-up while your using it please let me know the error
message or what not. Thanks

revolutiongames2004
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by revolutiongames2004 » Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:45 am

it doesnt work fer me

User avatar
jonas
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by jonas » Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:54 am

So if I wanted to I could make a control panel a pawn and when you goto the panel it will start a conversation.
Jonas

Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack

revolutiongames2004
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by revolutiongames2004 » Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:13 am

never mind got it

rgdyman
Posts: 84
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:05 am

Post by rgdyman » Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:06 pm

jonas wrote:So if I wanted to I could make a control panel a pawn and when you goto the panel it will start a conversation.
Yes.

Right now thee's only 8 slots available to use for answers.

The script more or less allows the player to have more interactivity
in the conversation -vs- yes or no questions.

You'll have to teach the pawn the " Words" though.
The more words that you define the more interaction the player
can have with the pawn.


revolutiongames2004;
why didn't the script work for u right away?
( Incase someone eles has the same problem)

revolutiongames2004
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by revolutiongames2004 » Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:51 pm

i just forgot the .s :)

Post Reply