Wire Sliding Help

Topics regarding Scripting with Reality Factory
Post Reply
User avatar
Kamazy
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere

Wire Sliding Help

Post by Kamazy » Thu Sep 01, 2005 4:50 pm

hey i need help making my pawn slide down a wire like in IGI and stuff.
He should jump up grab it slide down and jump off.
But my scripting skills suck and i don't know why its not working he just stands there in a sliding pose.
So if any one can write a small script 3 or 4 orders for this with some
notes what the camands do that would help a lot Thanks.
Image

User avatar
Kamazy
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere

Post by Kamazy » Sun Sep 04, 2005 4:12 pm

Heres the script i came up with not finished but its a good start.
{

Start[ ()
{
//SetKeyPause(true);
Gravity(false);
PlayAnimation("Start", true, "");
NewOrder("Slide");
} ]

Slide[ ()
{
NextPoint ();
NextOrder ();
MoveToPoint("Slide", 40, "");
RestartOrder();
} ]

JumpOff[ ()
{
PlayAnimation("Start", true, "");
LowLevel("End");
} ]

End[ ()
{
PawnRender(false);
SetNoCollision();
//SetKeyPause(false);
RestartOrder();
} ]
}
Image

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay » Mon Sep 05, 2005 4:19 pm

2 things to notice:

-RestartOrder() does not work on LowLevel (and it is not needed)
-when the pawn has no collision, the script is on the end, and the pawn doesn't even render, then why don't delete it completely nad save processor ressources? Yo can use Remove(false) to make this.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

User avatar
Kamazy
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 2:59 pm
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere

Post by Kamazy » Sat Sep 10, 2005 3:41 pm

Thanks i'll try not to have things like this in my game.
Image

Post Reply