Pawn Conversation

Topics regarding Scripting with Reality Factory
Post Reply
jamesl22
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:05 pm

Pawn Conversation

Post by jamesl22 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:23 pm

Hi,

I Have set up a Pawn conversation using your tutorial. But how do I activate it whilst in the game?

James

User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by QuestOfDreams » Sat Mar 13, 2010 4:57 pm

Approach the pawn associated with the conversation script and press the Use key (by default this should be mapped to the U key); see also: RF manual: Pawn Conversation

jamesl22
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:05 pm

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by jamesl22 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 5:32 pm

Hi,

I have just tried that but it didn't work. Here is my conversation script:

Code: Select all

{

  tutorial[ ()
  {
      Speak("T-Start","");
      Reply(1,"T-Ask");
      switch(Conversation(50))
      {
          case 1
          {
              NewConversation("tutorial2",true);
          }
      }
  } ]

  tutorial2[ ()
  {
      Speak("T-What","");
      Reply(1,"T-Aname");
      switch(Conversation(50))
      {
          case 1
          {
              NewConversation("tutorial3",true);
          }
      }
  } ]

  tutorial3[ ()
  {
      Speak("T-Name","");
      Reply(1,"T-Goodbye");
      switch(Conversation(50))
      {
          case 1
          {
              NewConversation("",false);
          }
      }
  } ]

}

And here is my pawn script:

Code: Select all

{
    Spawn[()
    {
       PlayAnimation("Idle", true, "");
       RestartOrder();
    }]
}
I have managed to get it to work once. But it wont work now. I can't remember what I did. Do I have to select him or something first?
Last edited by jamesl22 on Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by Jay » Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:27 pm

Your pawn script is missing an } at the end. Or was that a copy error?
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

jamesl22
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:05 pm

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by jamesl22 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:54 pm

Oops yes sorry thats a copy error. Any ideas why its not working?

Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by Jay » Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:59 pm

The pawn has to be in the center of the screen, you have to face him. Do you use a scripted player?
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----

jamesl22
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:05 pm

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by jamesl22 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:18 pm

I will try that. How do you use a scripted player/ how does it work.

jamesl22
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:05 pm

Re: Pawn Conversation

Post by jamesl22 » Sat Mar 13, 2010 10:28 pm

YAY!!! I stood in front of him about 1 metre away and then it worked. However, once you choose a reply the old reply text stays but the new one is put over the top. How can i fix this? Also you can only start the conversation once. How can I stop this? Also, how can I make it that a trigger can not be activated by shooting it?

Post Reply