community attempt at multiplayer

Programming Reality Factory and Genesis3D.
scott

community attempt at multiplayer

Post by scott » Thu Jun 29, 2006 9:23 pm

i realy think that multiplayer would be an exelent addition to RF, RF is good but is behind in this area... as some of you may know there is simple multiplayer of viewing another person in the same level, i belive that this has been successfuly implimented into the engine but only alows for one other player to join at the moment.

so now all that needs to do is send collision of bullets and atribute change.

this is already done in other parts of code such as player i belive as there has to be colision detection for player and enemy bullets, thus i belive copying paart of code and changing part of code will successfuly intergrate multiplayer

for this reason i think people from the community would be able to do this and i would love to help in any way i can.

im no programmer but im taking an educational guess that this may be the code handeling amount of players.

Code: Select all

//	ServerClientCycle
//
//	This is the Server and Client processing
//
//	this function is called every 0.05 second from the Windows Timer
/* ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ */
void NetPlayerMgr::ServerClientCycle()
{
	// Server for receiving and redistributing information
	if(isServer && !serverstop)
	{
		// if not full then check for new connection
		if(clientnum<(MAXPLAYERS-1))
		{
*(MAXPLAYERS-1))

change this to a higher number more players?

i think if we put our minds to it a group effort could actualy complete multiplayer as i dont think that too much hard work has to be done, it may seem hard work for us non-programmers but lets give it ago! :D

im sure many of people including yourselfs would be greatful for it and i dont think its fair relying on other people to do work for us so do it ourselfs i say.
*GD*

LtForce

Post by LtForce » Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:15 am