Sound Doesnt Work

Discuss any other topics here
Post Reply
User avatar
Microman171
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Sound Doesnt Work

Post by Microman171 »

I cant get my gun to work. Everything is defined and the sounds are all 16bit mono.

here is my weapon log:

Code: Select all

;*********************************************************
; Weapon.ini
; 
; definitions of all projectiles used in the game
;
; definitions of weapons used by the player
;*********************************************************

;*********************************************************
;
; Projectiles
;
;*********************************************************

;*********************************************************
; 9mm
;*********************************************************
[9mm]
type = projectile
actor = projectile\w_bullet.act
rotation = 0 -90 90
scale = 0.1
gravity = false
bounce = false
speed = 3500
lifetime = 1
boundingbox = 1
explosion = BulletExplosion
actorexplosion = BulletExplosion
showboth = false
attachactor = false
bonelevel = true
damage = 20
altdamage = 10
explosionradius = 128
explosiondamage = 0
decal = 0
movesound = weapon\move2.wav
impactsound = impact\ricochet\1.wav



;*********************************************************
;
; Player Weapons
;
;*********************************************************

;*********************************************************
; p99
;*********************************************************
[p99]
type = weapon
slot = 0
firerate = 0.25
catagory = projectile
projectile = 9mm
attribute = enemy_health
ammunition = 9mm
ammopershot = 1
shotpermagazine = 12
worksunderwater = true
attacksound = weapon\deagle.wav
reloadsound = weapon\generic_reload.wav
emptysound = weapon\click.wav
muzzleflash3rd = MuzzleFlash
;
; 1st person
;
viewactor = Weapon\p99.act
viewfillcolor = 255 255 255
viewambientcolor = 255 255 255
viewrotation = -90 180 -58.8
viewoffset = 2.80 2.10 2.20
viewscale = 0.18
viewlaunchoffset = 0 0 25
viewlaunchbone = Bip01 R Hand
viewanimationspeed = 1
viewarmanim = idle
viewidleanim = idle
viewattackanim = idle
viewaltattackanim = idle
viewhitanim = idle
viewalthitanim = idle
viewwalkanim = idle
muzzleflash = MuzzleFlash1
crosshair = crosshair.bmp
crosshairalpha = a_crosshair.bmp
crosshairfixed = true
allowlitcrosshair = true
crosshairlitcolor = 255 0 0
zoomamount = 2
zoomoverlay = zoomlow.bmp
zoomoverlayalpha = a_zoomlow.bmp
allowzoommove = false
recoilamount = 10
recoildecay = 5
bobamount = 10
viewreloadanim = idle
viewkeyreloadanim = idle
viewattackemptyanim = idle
environmentmapping = false
allmaterial = false
percentmapping = 0
percentmaterial = 0
;
; 3rd person
;
playeractor = weapon\p99.act
playerfillcolor = 128 128 128
playerambientcolor = 128 128 128
playerrotation = -90 180 0
playerscale = 1
playerlaunchoffset = 0 0 25
playerbone = BIP01 R HAND
I can only think that it could be because the gun has NO animations what so ever. Do I need to add an Idle animation to make the gun work? The gun not only doesnt mke sound but also doesnt make and gunshot either.
(\/)
(Oo)
(><)

Help this bunny in his world domination by putting him in your sig.
User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis »

You need a different animation for each action.
Even if they all are the same animation, you need to export them with different names and use them instead of just one animation.

I remember hearing that RF checks what a weapon is doing (ie. reloading, shooting) based on the animation, or something like that. And thats why you need different animations.
Pain is only psychological.
User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by QuestOfDreams »

Do you have some empty lines at the end of your ini file? Otherwise you may get some unexpected behaviour...
User avatar
Microman171
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by Microman171 »

I tried the lines but no success. I have now got EVERY animation as said in the weapon.ini but now I take like 8 - 12 shots the it crashes. I have NO idea why as the log says nothing.
(\/)
(Oo)
(><)

Help this bunny in his world domination by putting him in your sig.
User avatar
Microman171
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by Microman171 »

Now I have added one frame to each of the animations and still no luck :(
(\/)
(Oo)
(><)

Help this bunny in his world domination by putting him in your sig.
User avatar
steven8
Posts: 1487
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2005 9:08 am
Location: Barberton, OH

Post by steven8 »

I take like 8 - 12 shots the it crashes
You have a reload animation? I was missing that and it did the same thing. I see a reload sound but not a reload animation. Check other weapons to make sure of the name, but I think you need a reload anim.
Steve Dilworth - Resisting change since 1965!
User avatar
Microman171
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2005 3:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by Microman171 »

nah I have all of the animations now. I think the prob is the bullets. If I out them in the hud (I have NO idea hw so I guessed) nd nothing shows up. How do I make it show up even with no bullets??
(\/)
(Oo)
(><)

Help this bunny in his world domination by putting him in your sig.
Post Reply