Topic for enhancements on RF i made
- fps
- Posts: 504
- Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:54 pm
- Location: in a magical land devoid of hope, happiness, and sanity.
i was having a proble earlier where the wing entity was automatically blowing everything including the player up against the ceiling twards the back of the level.
i was even violently ripped from the levels "in play area" and sent flying off into the cold dark void of "outer" empty space. were in which the player quickly lost sight of the world and even the view model of the m249 vibrated so violently from the acceleration that its animations were scrambeled. IT WAS LIKE A BLACK HOLE OPENED UP OVER MY LEVEL AND SUCKED UP MY SANITY. It was pretty awsome anyways but i figured out that you need to reset the playerstart (or one of the other basic entities wind settings) to 0.0 0.0 0.0 from just 0
that fixes the problem.
otherwise good work. weve been needing some of this stuff really bad for a long time.
thanks,
fps
i was even violently ripped from the levels "in play area" and sent flying off into the cold dark void of "outer" empty space. were in which the player quickly lost sight of the world and even the view model of the m249 vibrated so violently from the acceleration that its animations were scrambeled. IT WAS LIKE A BLACK HOLE OPENED UP OVER MY LEVEL AND SUCKED UP MY SANITY. It was pretty awsome anyways but i figured out that you need to reset the playerstart (or one of the other basic entities wind settings) to 0.0 0.0 0.0 from just 0
that fixes the problem.
otherwise good work. weve been needing some of this stuff really bad for a long time.
thanks,
fps
It's just a number i thought of if it is too low i can correct that upwards. I just thought it would be ridicolous if you had like 20 different items equipped. I didn't want to waste memory (even if it were just a few bytes, 4 for every weapon equipable, for every pawn, if you don't need them it's wasting of memory) Also it would rise the polycount of the scene immense if you equipped too much items.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----
-----
could we possibly make how many slots there are defined somewhere externally? That way we don't waste memory, and only use what we need. For those that need a lot they could raise the number? Like in the weapon.ini , PlayerSetup.ini or even realityfactory.ini. I haven't looked into it, might be more work then its worth.
Jonas
Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack
Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack
Yes that would be possible but it is much work - and i am too lazy right now
If anyone runs into the problem not having enough slots, you might post again
personally i would put it into Pawn.ini, since it only affects the pawn weapons.
If anyone runs into the problem not having enough slots, you might post again
personally i would put it into Pawn.ini, since it only affects the pawn weapons.
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----
-----
new script commands:
PushActor(char* szEntityName, float amount);
sets the force on an entity(SEP,attribute,Pawn,DynamicEntity) relative to the position of the entity and the pawn so that it looks like you are pushing the actor. to pull an actor towards you use a negative amount. I for example will use this for a windslash spell that can throw enemys a bit away from you.
SetPawnWeaponMatFromFlip(FlipBookname, materialIndex, flipbookIndex, R, G, B, weaponIndex);
same as SetWeaponMatFromFlip(...) but for the pawn weapons rather than for the player's weapon..
SetTimeScale(float scale);
This sets a time scale that can make EVERYTHING slowe or faster. You could do SlowMo or FastMo with that. The self.time value will also increase slower.
It may not be too save to set it to very low numbers (lower number->slower) like <0.1... however setting it to high numbers is save (higher numbers ->faster). The default TimeScale is 1.0.
GetTimeScale();
gets the current time scale
PushActor(char* szEntityName, float amount);
sets the force on an entity(SEP,attribute,Pawn,DynamicEntity) relative to the position of the entity and the pawn so that it looks like you are pushing the actor. to pull an actor towards you use a negative amount. I for example will use this for a windslash spell that can throw enemys a bit away from you.
SetPawnWeaponMatFromFlip(FlipBookname, materialIndex, flipbookIndex, R, G, B, weaponIndex);
same as SetWeaponMatFromFlip(...) but for the pawn weapons rather than for the player's weapon..
SetTimeScale(float scale);
This sets a time scale that can make EVERYTHING slowe or faster. You could do SlowMo or FastMo with that. The self.time value will also increase slower.
It may not be too save to set it to very low numbers (lower number->slower) like <0.1... however setting it to high numbers is save (higher numbers ->faster). The default TimeScale is 1.0.
GetTimeScale();
gets the current time scale
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----
-----
- darksmaster923
- Posts: 1857
- Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
- Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
sounds wicked! I love SLO-MO!!!! its teh kick ass!
My Deviant Art - http://black-crusader.deviantart.com
- wackedoutbiker
- Posts: 189
- Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:11 pm
Would it be possible to switch scripts in players? Good for RPG or team oriented games involving switching playable characters and giving them an AI script instead while you control the other character...
Just an idea.
So full of ideas, but with no way to implement them.
Just an idea.
So full of ideas, but with no way to implement them.
More atrocities are committed in the name of that which is holy and righteous than that which is wicked and evil
- wackedoutbiker
- Posts: 189
- Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 9:11 pm
Slow motion would be nice, but it would be even better if the sounds played could be affected (for instance, playing the sound at 20% the normal rate if at 20% normal speed, and vice versa)
More atrocities are committed in the name of that which is holy and righteous than that which is wicked and evil
well the sound thing COULD be done, by scripts, just make all new sounds at the slower speed... This would take more time, but I think it would produce better affects possibly than having the engine slow down all the sounds dynamicly, also i dont know if that would even be possible..
My Deviant Art - http://black-crusader.deviantart.com