Taking damage while under water.
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm
Awsome!
Cant wait!!!
I am very familiar with the .x format.
will the .x file call the texture for the actor or will there a third file that will do that? The third file method would enable changing textures for actors and such on the fly. A setting could then be entered in the editor to change textures.
Will the editor allow you to browes to the scripts to use or will you still have to type them in?
Will there then be a break away from the ini file also? I was just getting the hang of them.
Will there be an actual beta period or will it be up to the users to report bugs?
Will the games that it will make run in linux or on a mac as well as windows?
Also I still have issues getting the liquid/character interaction to go just right.
When the player is under the water the oxygen doesnt seem to go down but the life of the character does. What I was aiming for was to have the oxygen get used up and then have the life start to drop. Once the player comes up from under the water then the oxygen should recharge.
Here are the entries I have in the ini files.
player.ini:
[oxygen]
initial = 100
low = 0
high = 100
usedecrease=true
hud.ini:
[oxygen]
type = numeric
framex = 100
framey = 100
indicatoroffsetx = 0
indicatoroffsety = 0
font = 10
width = 3
playersetup.ini:
; name of attribute designated auto increase
attributename0=oxygen
; number of seconds before attribute increases by 1
recoverytime0=1
Settings for the liquid in the editor:
Cant wait!!!
I am very familiar with the .x format.
will the .x file call the texture for the actor or will there a third file that will do that? The third file method would enable changing textures for actors and such on the fly. A setting could then be entered in the editor to change textures.
Will the editor allow you to browes to the scripts to use or will you still have to type them in?
Will there then be a break away from the ini file also? I was just getting the hang of them.
Will there be an actual beta period or will it be up to the users to report bugs?
Will the games that it will make run in linux or on a mac as well as windows?
Also I still have issues getting the liquid/character interaction to go just right.
When the player is under the water the oxygen doesnt seem to go down but the life of the character does. What I was aiming for was to have the oxygen get used up and then have the life start to drop. Once the player comes up from under the water then the oxygen should recharge.
Here are the entries I have in the ini files.
player.ini:
[oxygen]
initial = 100
low = 0
high = 100
usedecrease=true
hud.ini:
[oxygen]
type = numeric
framex = 100
framey = 100
indicatoroffsetx = 0
indicatoroffsety = 0
font = 10
width = 3
playersetup.ini:
; name of attribute designated auto increase
attributename0=oxygen
; number of seconds before attribute increases by 1
recoverytime0=1
Settings for the liquid in the editor:
- Attachments
-
- liquid1.JPG (18.35 KiB) Viewed 1294 times
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.
I have yet to work that out. It is most likely that you can call it from the x file, or specify it seperately in a third file, your choice (which ties in with the texture format, which is the raw bmp/tga/psd/png/whatever files with an optional .txt file specifying additional information about the texture.
I plan on doing a new system that allows you to browse for files where they are needed in entities, as well as, for instance, when you need a model for a lift pick the lift model in the 3d view if you want.
I am keeping the INI files.
I believe there will be a beta period.
It currently runs on windows, linux, and mac, and is being developed on linux.
I plan on doing a new system that allows you to browse for files where they are needed in entities, as well as, for instance, when you need a model for a lift pick the lift model in the 3d view if you want.
I am keeping the INI files.
I believe there will be a beta period.
It currently runs on windows, linux, and mac, and is being developed on linux.
RF2 site: http://realityfactory2.sourceforge.net/
RF2 tasks: http://sourceforge.net/pm/?group_id=179085
RF2 tasks: http://sourceforge.net/pm/?group_id=179085
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm
Juutis,
You are correct. I made the change that you suggested and bingo. Now I just have to play with the delay setting for each to get a fine balance.
ty
AndyCR,
Having the choice as to how the texture is called is truely awesome.
What image formats will be supported for textures and such?
Alot of people consider ini files to be touch and go. I dont know why. I really like the easy mods that can be made on the fly using them. Much better than having to decompile a file make changes and then recompile it. Thats a PITA big time I hear. I have never dealt with that but have spoken to others that say they have.
Will the issue with collision detection be addressed so that players dont end up in the black void when their head hits on the ceiling?
Also I have found that sometimes the game I am running in test mode will freeze and all of a sudden Im somewhere else in the game or out side the game falling forever. Seems to happen when I am in a close quarters confrontation with an enemy.
If you need betatesters just let me know. I have alot of time on my hands, and have a way of bugs finding me as well as the other way around.
To make games that run on all of the major platforms would be so freakin cool. I like the possibility of having "No Limits" that way.
Look forward to hearing more.
BTW:
Is the Wold Editor on the download page actually the World Editor 2?
You are correct. I made the change that you suggested and bingo. Now I just have to play with the delay setting for each to get a fine balance.
ty
AndyCR,
Having the choice as to how the texture is called is truely awesome.
What image formats will be supported for textures and such?
Alot of people consider ini files to be touch and go. I dont know why. I really like the easy mods that can be made on the fly using them. Much better than having to decompile a file make changes and then recompile it. Thats a PITA big time I hear. I have never dealt with that but have spoken to others that say they have.
Will the issue with collision detection be addressed so that players dont end up in the black void when their head hits on the ceiling?
Also I have found that sometimes the game I am running in test mode will freeze and all of a sudden Im somewhere else in the game or out side the game falling forever. Seems to happen when I am in a close quarters confrontation with an enemy.
If you need betatesters just let me know. I have alot of time on my hands, and have a way of bugs finding me as well as the other way around.
To make games that run on all of the major platforms would be so freakin cool. I like the possibility of having "No Limits" that way.
Look forward to hearing more.
BTW:
Is the Wold Editor on the download page actually the World Editor 2?
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.
Supported image formats (barring license issues):
psd, jpg, png, tga, bmp, pcx
I plan, if I have time, to add several new editors to RF2 which make editing the INIs quite a bit easier. They will however still be the same text files so you can continue to edit them the way you do now.
it should, collision detection will be completely redone.
That sounds like an RF1 bug, and since RF2 is a rewrite, it won't have many, if any, of RF1's bugs, but rather bugs of it's own.
Sure, I'll keep you in mind.
I think thats we2. could be wrong.
psd, jpg, png, tga, bmp, pcx
I plan, if I have time, to add several new editors to RF2 which make editing the INIs quite a bit easier. They will however still be the same text files so you can continue to edit them the way you do now.
it should, collision detection will be completely redone.
That sounds like an RF1 bug, and since RF2 is a rewrite, it won't have many, if any, of RF1's bugs, but rather bugs of it's own.
Sure, I'll keep you in mind.
I think thats we2. could be wrong.
RF2 site: http://realityfactory2.sourceforge.net/
RF2 tasks: http://sourceforge.net/pm/?group_id=179085
RF2 tasks: http://sourceforge.net/pm/?group_id=179085
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm
Cool!!
I will DL it and see what it is and what it can do for me.
I am wondering.
I have a weapon and it uses the 10mm_shell and it doesnt do any damage to enemies and the setting in the weapon.ini file are as follows:
[10mm_shell]
type = projectile
actor = Projectile\proj.act
rotation = -90 180 0
scale = 1
gravity = false
bounce = false
speed = 5000
lifetime = 1
boundingbox = 0.1
explosion = 556mm_Explosion
actorexplosion = 556mm_ActorExplosion
damage = 70
altdamage = 0
explosionradius = 0
explosiondamage = 1
decal = 0
[Tavor]
type = weapon
slot = 3
firerate = 0.1
catagory = projectile
projectile = 10mm_shell
attribute = health
ammunition = 10mm_shell
shotpermagazine = 100
ammopershot = 1
attacksound = Weapons/Fire.wav
reloadsound = Weapons/Reload.wav
emptysound = Weapons/Empty.wav
crosshair = crosshair.bmp
crosshairalpha = a_crosshair.bmp
crosshairfixed = true
allowlitcrosshair = true
crosshairlitcolor = 255 0 0
recoilamount = -5
recoildecay = 80
;
; 1st Person
;
viewactor = Weapons/tavor.act
viewfillcolor = 255 255 255
viewambientcolor = 255 255 255
viewrotation = -90 90 180
viewoffset = -5 -5 -2.5
viewscale = -0.1
viewlaunchoffset = -5 3.5 20
viewlaunchbone = BONE01
viewanimationspeed = 1
viewarmanim = Draw
viewidleanim = Idle
viewattackanim = Fire
viewaltattackanim = Fire
viewhitanim = Fire
viewalthitanim = Fire
viewwalkanim = Walk
muzzleflash = MuzzleFlash1
crosshair = crosshair.bmp
crosshairalpha = a_crosshair.bmp
crosshairfixed = true
allowlitcrosshair = true
crosshairlitcolor = 255 0 0
recoilamount = 10
recoildecay = 5
bobamount = 20
viewreloadanim = Reload
viewkeyreloadanim = Reload
viewattackemptyanim = Fire
environmentmapping = false
allmaterial = false
percentmapping = 0
percentmaterial = 0
Is there something that I did or didnt do that would cause this?
Edit 12:34 PM 4/15/2006:
I downloaded the world editor 2 and opened my current level and tried use the preview and got the following error.
Windows cannot find 'C:\RealityFactory\tools\gpreview.exe'
I used the windows search feature and searched the C drive and gpreview.exe is not there.
there must be a way to use the preview feature.
I tried to use the help and it said that the file "WRLDEDIT.HLP" cant be found.
Are there any more files that the editor will look for that arent there?
Where can I get them?
Can someone please throw me a rope?
hike1,
Thanks for the confirmation on the WE2.
I will DL it and see what it is and what it can do for me.
I am wondering.
I have a weapon and it uses the 10mm_shell and it doesnt do any damage to enemies and the setting in the weapon.ini file are as follows:
[10mm_shell]
type = projectile
actor = Projectile\proj.act
rotation = -90 180 0
scale = 1
gravity = false
bounce = false
speed = 5000
lifetime = 1
boundingbox = 0.1
explosion = 556mm_Explosion
actorexplosion = 556mm_ActorExplosion
damage = 70
altdamage = 0
explosionradius = 0
explosiondamage = 1
decal = 0
[Tavor]
type = weapon
slot = 3
firerate = 0.1
catagory = projectile
projectile = 10mm_shell
attribute = health
ammunition = 10mm_shell
shotpermagazine = 100
ammopershot = 1
attacksound = Weapons/Fire.wav
reloadsound = Weapons/Reload.wav
emptysound = Weapons/Empty.wav
crosshair = crosshair.bmp
crosshairalpha = a_crosshair.bmp
crosshairfixed = true
allowlitcrosshair = true
crosshairlitcolor = 255 0 0
recoilamount = -5
recoildecay = 80
;
; 1st Person
;
viewactor = Weapons/tavor.act
viewfillcolor = 255 255 255
viewambientcolor = 255 255 255
viewrotation = -90 90 180
viewoffset = -5 -5 -2.5
viewscale = -0.1
viewlaunchoffset = -5 3.5 20
viewlaunchbone = BONE01
viewanimationspeed = 1
viewarmanim = Draw
viewidleanim = Idle
viewattackanim = Fire
viewaltattackanim = Fire
viewhitanim = Fire
viewalthitanim = Fire
viewwalkanim = Walk
muzzleflash = MuzzleFlash1
crosshair = crosshair.bmp
crosshairalpha = a_crosshair.bmp
crosshairfixed = true
allowlitcrosshair = true
crosshairlitcolor = 255 0 0
recoilamount = 10
recoildecay = 5
bobamount = 20
viewreloadanim = Reload
viewkeyreloadanim = Reload
viewattackemptyanim = Fire
environmentmapping = false
allmaterial = false
percentmapping = 0
percentmaterial = 0
Is there something that I did or didnt do that would cause this?
Edit 12:34 PM 4/15/2006:
I downloaded the world editor 2 and opened my current level and tried use the preview and got the following error.
Windows cannot find 'C:\RealityFactory\tools\gpreview.exe'
I used the windows search feature and searched the C drive and gpreview.exe is not there.
there must be a way to use the preview feature.
I tried to use the help and it said that the file "WRLDEDIT.HLP" cant be found.
Are there any more files that the editor will look for that arent there?
Where can I get them?
Can someone please throw me a rope?
hike1,
Thanks for the confirmation on the WE2.
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.
Edit your wrldedit.ini to reflect the proper previewpath;
[DESKTOP-Summary]
Bars=7
ScreenCX=1024
ScreenCY=768
[Grid]
Background=4210752
Color=6316128
SnapColor=0
[Viewports]
LinkedViewports=0
[Paths]
TxlName=default.txl
TxlSearchPath=..\media\levels
PreviewPath=..\realityfactory.exe
Headers=..\source
ObjectsDir=..\media\objects
ProjectDir=..\media\Levels
Actors=c:\rf071b\media\Actors
PawnIni=c:\rf071b\install\Pawn.ini
[DESKTOP-Bar0]
BarID=59392
XPos=275
YPos=-2
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59419
MRUDockLeftPos=275
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=638
MRUDockBottomPos=30
MRUFloatStyle=8196
MRUFloatXPos=-1
MRUFloatYPos=0
[DESKTOP-Bar1]
BarID=130
XPos=636
YPos=-2
MRUWidth=339
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59419
MRUDockLeftPos=636
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=991
MRUDockBottomPos=30
MRUFloatStyle=8192
MRUFloatXPos=459
MRUFloatYPos=25
[DESKTOP-Bar2]
BarID=219
XPos=-2
YPos=-2
MRUWidth=245
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59419
MRUDockLeftPos=-2
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=259
MRUDockBottomPos=30
MRUFloatStyle=8192
MRUFloatXPos=-8
MRUFloatYPos=24
[DESKTOP-Bar3]
BarID=153
XPos=-2
YPos=-2
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59421
MRUDockLeftPos=-2
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=181
MRUDockBottomPos=611
MRUFloatStyle=4096
MRUFloatXPos=865
MRUFloatYPos=104
[DESKTOP-Bar4]
BarID=59393
[DESKTOP-Bar5]
BarID=59419
Bars=5
Bar#0=0
Bar#1=219
Bar#2=59392
Bar#3=130
Bar#4=0
[DESKTOP-Bar6]
BarID=59421
Bars=3
Bar#0=0
Bar#1=153
Bar#2=0
[Recent File List]
Sometimes you can't save the wrldedit.ini, just save it as wrldedit2.ini then delete wrldedit.ini and rename wrldedit2.ini
You want the preview to be done with realityfactory.exe
search 'world editor' at http://terrymorgan.net/download.htm
[DESKTOP-Summary]
Bars=7
ScreenCX=1024
ScreenCY=768
[Grid]
Background=4210752
Color=6316128
SnapColor=0
[Viewports]
LinkedViewports=0
[Paths]
TxlName=default.txl
TxlSearchPath=..\media\levels
PreviewPath=..\realityfactory.exe
Headers=..\source
ObjectsDir=..\media\objects
ProjectDir=..\media\Levels
Actors=c:\rf071b\media\Actors
PawnIni=c:\rf071b\install\Pawn.ini
[DESKTOP-Bar0]
BarID=59392
XPos=275
YPos=-2
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59419
MRUDockLeftPos=275
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=638
MRUDockBottomPos=30
MRUFloatStyle=8196
MRUFloatXPos=-1
MRUFloatYPos=0
[DESKTOP-Bar1]
BarID=130
XPos=636
YPos=-2
MRUWidth=339
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59419
MRUDockLeftPos=636
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=991
MRUDockBottomPos=30
MRUFloatStyle=8192
MRUFloatXPos=459
MRUFloatYPos=25
[DESKTOP-Bar2]
BarID=219
XPos=-2
YPos=-2
MRUWidth=245
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59419
MRUDockLeftPos=-2
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=259
MRUDockBottomPos=30
MRUFloatStyle=8192
MRUFloatXPos=-8
MRUFloatYPos=24
[DESKTOP-Bar3]
BarID=153
XPos=-2
YPos=-2
Docking=1
MRUDockID=59421
MRUDockLeftPos=-2
MRUDockTopPos=-2
MRUDockRightPos=181
MRUDockBottomPos=611
MRUFloatStyle=4096
MRUFloatXPos=865
MRUFloatYPos=104
[DESKTOP-Bar4]
BarID=59393
[DESKTOP-Bar5]
BarID=59419
Bars=5
Bar#0=0
Bar#1=219
Bar#2=59392
Bar#3=130
Bar#4=0
[DESKTOP-Bar6]
BarID=59421
Bars=3
Bar#0=0
Bar#1=153
Bar#2=0
[Recent File List]
Sometimes you can't save the wrldedit.ini, just save it as wrldedit2.ini then delete wrldedit.ini and rename wrldedit2.ini
You want the preview to be done with realityfactory.exe
search 'world editor' at http://terrymorgan.net/download.htm
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm
Thanks hike1 I was floundering pretty badly on that one.
Now I have figure out why my new weapon is not working properly.
It fires fine.
It is just pitch black and causes no damage to enemies.
Edit 10:28 AM 4/17/2006: I have Downloaded WE2 I cant seem to find a manual for it. I cant find the way to use all of the baser functions like zoomin, zoomout, move the camera and such. In fact there is very little I can find as far as the tools. Only the obvios ones seem usfull. I have tried hotkeys and using the mouse and the menus. I spent 2 hours on just trying to learn how to use it and still cant. I think that I will just stick with RFEditPro.
Thanks for letting me know it is there though.
Now I have figure out why my new weapon is not working properly.
It fires fine.
It is just pitch black and causes no damage to enemies.
Edit 10:28 AM 4/17/2006: I have Downloaded WE2 I cant seem to find a manual for it. I cant find the way to use all of the baser functions like zoomin, zoomout, move the camera and such. In fact there is very little I can find as far as the tools. Only the obvios ones seem usfull. I have tried hotkeys and using the mouse and the menus. I spent 2 hours on just trying to learn how to use it and still cant. I think that I will just stick with RFEditPro.
Thanks for letting me know it is there though.
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm
Re: Taking damage while under water.
Since I have been informed that RFEditpro has issues, I will have to use the World Editor 2. However when I try to compile and preview a level I get the following error.
** BSP Compile Version: 15
** Build Date/Time: Jan 31 2005,06:32:56
--- Load Brush File ---
Num Solid Brushes : 7
Num Cut Brushes : 0
Num Hollow Cut Brushes : 0
Num Detail Brushes : 0
Num Total Brushes : 7
--- Remove Hidden Leafs ---
PlaceEntities: No valid entities for operation 10.
Failed to remove hidden leafs.
Compile Failed: GBSP_CreateBSP encountered an error, GBSPLib.Dll.
I have told WE2 where to find all the resources but it does not see all the entities that should be on the list. I have tried to find the folder where the templates are and cannot find it. There is no folder called "templates" that I can see. I still have no clue how to use the basic functions. Will someone please throw me a line?
** BSP Compile Version: 15
** Build Date/Time: Jan 31 2005,06:32:56
--- Load Brush File ---
Num Solid Brushes : 7
Num Cut Brushes : 0
Num Hollow Cut Brushes : 0
Num Detail Brushes : 0
Num Total Brushes : 7
--- Remove Hidden Leafs ---
PlaceEntities: No valid entities for operation 10.
Failed to remove hidden leafs.
Compile Failed: GBSP_CreateBSP encountered an error, GBSPLib.Dll.
I have told WE2 where to find all the resources but it does not see all the entities that should be on the list. I have tried to find the folder where the templates are and cannot find it. There is no folder called "templates" that I can see. I still have no clue how to use the basic functions. Will someone please throw me a line?
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.
Re: Taking damage while under water.
You have to at least have a PlayerStart and a PlayerSetup entity within the bounds of your level - Outside in the void or in a wall doesn't count.
I think the 'templates' folder is created once you add the first template. You can do this with 'Add new Lib Object' or 'Add prefeab' (I don't know where this was, but if you stumble across it, you now know for what it is for). It can also be that the folder is called 'Prefabs'...
I think the 'templates' folder is created once you add the first template. You can do this with 'Add new Lib Object' or 'Add prefeab' (I don't know where this was, but if you stumble across it, you now know for what it is for). It can also be that the folder is called 'Prefabs'...
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----
-----
-
- Posts: 320
- Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2006 11:41 pm
Re: Taking damage while under water.
I know all about the player start and so on. My post is not about them not being in the level. It is about the limited choices that I have for entities.
However, I started the World Editor 2 for the millionth time and just like magic it has all the entities.
Now I am trying to master the functions of the editor.
Just as a note hike1 there is no file that comes with the World Editor 2 called wrldedit.ini.
I created the file and made the adjustments that you suggested and it made no difference.
Can someone please tell me where to get the manual for the World Editor 2?
EDIT:
After god made the editor start working properly I now have a file called wrldedit.ini, but not before that.
However, I started the World Editor 2 for the millionth time and just like magic it has all the entities.
Now I am trying to master the functions of the editor.
Just as a note hike1 there is no file that comes with the World Editor 2 called wrldedit.ini.
I created the file and made the adjustments that you suggested and it made no difference.
Can someone please tell me where to get the manual for the World Editor 2?
EDIT:
After god made the editor start working properly I now have a file called wrldedit.ini, but not before that.
Last edited by incenseman2003 on Sun Jun 29, 2008 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Patience and tolerance are the keys to the passage of knowledge. Even those that are the most knowledgeable started with many questions.
Re: Taking damage while under water.
I had this problem with RFEditPro and solved it by going to the Project->Level Options menu and adding the RF source folder to the "Headers Directories" area. This will allow the editor to know what entities are avaliable.It is about the limited choices that I have for entities.
Re: Taking damage while under water.
World edit 2 is stuck at beta2 and is no longer supported by the author. See here for details of why : http://www.michaelbrumm.com/