Hard time with Triggers!
- Digitalboy
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am
Hard time with Triggers!
Hi guys.How are you doing? .
Well i was trying some basic things in my level(messages,attributes,etc).but there is a problem i cant solve.
i want that when i pick up an attribute it then triggers a message AND trigger something else(say a movingplatform) i tried all sorts of logic gates but had no luck.
(my problem isn't the message,it is the second thing i want to trigger)
Thanks
Well i was trying some basic things in my level(messages,attributes,etc).but there is a problem i cant solve.
i want that when i pick up an attribute it then triggers a message AND trigger something else(say a movingplatform) i tried all sorts of logic gates but had no luck.
(my problem isn't the message,it is the second thing i want to trigger)
Thanks
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.
- darksmaster923
- Posts: 1857
- Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
- Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
- Digitalboy
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Sure.Here you go.
Some explanation:With my current settings,when i collect the artifact(attribute) the message shows up correctly and disappears but the platform only twitches a bit(i know its because of the callback state which last only a second and cant trigger the platform completely) but any logicgate type besides 6 cant trigger the message.
i even tried putting a trigger so that when i collect the artifact,the logicgate triggers the message and this one triggers the platform.but it only triggers the message.
Hope these made sense.
oh and the message setting:
DisplayType:static
Origin:0 0 0
Szentityname:
TextName:Yellart
Triggernme:logic1
Some explanation:With my current settings,when i collect the artifact(attribute) the message shows up correctly and disappears but the platform only twitches a bit(i know its because of the callback state which last only a second and cant trigger the platform completely) but any logicgate type besides 6 cant trigger the message.
i even tried putting a trigger so that when i collect the artifact,the logicgate triggers the message and this one triggers the platform.but it only triggers the message.
Hope these made sense.
oh and the message setting:
DisplayType:static
Origin:0 0 0
Szentityname:
TextName:Yellart
Triggernme:logic1
- Attachments
-
- attrib.JPG
- The attributes
- (40.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet
-
- Logic gate
- logic.JPG (9.76 KiB) Viewed 1675 times
-
- platform.JPG
- The moving platform
- (29.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.
- darksmaster923
- Posts: 1857
- Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
- Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Replace trigger1name for the logicgate with logic1. The szEntityName can be anything, but the trigger name is what you need to match
Herp derp.
- Digitalboy
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
i really didn't get it.
"logic1" is the name i chose for the logicgate(entityname) and it is used to trigger the message and "artifact"(Trigger1) is the attribute that when i collect it,it triggers the logicgate .if i replace it with trigger1name the whole logic makes no sense.
could you be more specific?
i dont know.maybe i should upload my level....
"logic1" is the name i chose for the logicgate(entityname) and it is used to trigger the message and "artifact"(Trigger1) is the attribute that when i collect it,it triggers the logicgate .if i replace it with trigger1name the whole logic makes no sense.
could you be more specific?
i dont know.maybe i should upload my level....
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.
- darksmaster923
- Posts: 1857
- Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:32 pm
- Location: Huntington Beach, California, USA
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
The szEntityName is the name of the trigger entity. Not the actual trigger, that is defined by the triggername
Herp derp.
- QuestOfDreams
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1520
- Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
- Location: Austria
- Contact:
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
@darksmaster
what you're saying doesn't make any sense.
@Digitalboy
I think your setup should be correct, I'll try it out later.
what you're saying doesn't make any sense.
@Digitalboy
I think your setup should be correct, I'll try it out later.
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Add another LogicGate with type 9 - always on.
Attribute:
LogicGates:
Message:
MovingPlatform:
Attribute:
Code: Select all
szEntityName = artifact
Code: Select all
szEntityName = logic1
Trigger1Name = artifact
Type = 6
Code: Select all
szEntityName = logic2
Trigger1Name = logic1
Type = 9
Code: Select all
TriggerName = logic1
Code: Select all
bAutoStart = false
bLooping = true
bNoCollide = true
bOneShot = false
bReverse = true
bRunFromList = false
bRunTimed = false
bRunToNextEvent = false
bRunWhileTrig = true
bShoot = false
TriggerName = logic2
Pain is only psychological.
- QuestOfDreams
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1520
- Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
- Location: Austria
- Contact:
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
You beat me to it. Just wanted to post the same This solution is correct and tested.
- Digitalboy
- Posts: 18
- Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:32 am
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Booyah!!! Thanks guys,It works perfect now.
Artificial Intelligence usually beats real stupidity. Seriously.