Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Express Now Free

Discuss any other topics here
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Express Now Free

Post by AndyCR »

Visual Studio 2005 Express, originally thought to be released for ~$50 USD, has now been released free. I dont believe it can be used to compile RF, however, due to RF using MFC; however, it is certainly a nice product to have, especially if you are a programmer.

http://forums.microsoft.com/MSDN/ShowPo ... 6&SiteID=1

Enjoy!

EDIT: This is not the beta, and will function past the 1 year you can download it within.
Last edited by AndyCR on Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jonas
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by jonas »

I'm diffenatly going to get a copy it has to be tons better then dev-cpp! Even if it doesn't compile rf.
Jonas

Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack
User avatar
federico
RF Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Contact:

Post by federico »

Editing and Compiling Existing C++ files in VC++ Express (8 Minutes - 6.6 MB)
This video will take you through the steps for importing your existing C++ files into VC++ Express using the Project From Existing Code wizard. It will cover all steps from naming your project to importing files of different types to adding support for ATL, MFC or CLR. After following these steps, your C++ file will be fully imported into VC++ Express. This video does not cover debugging or updating syntax.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/visualc/learn ... fault.aspx
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR »

wow, maybe it does support rf!
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR »

hmm. well, nice.

RealityFactory - 157 error(s), 37 warning(s)
========== Rebuild All: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 skipped ==========

ill keep trying though.
User avatar
federico
RF Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Contact:

Post by federico »

i've reached only 37 errors!

in the download page there are additional instructions to configure mvc++ 2005. Additionally in the video tut page there is a setiing up instruction video. Then I've linked mfc but it seems to have other problems. Now I'm at work I can try this night (your evening?). probably QoD can explain to us how to set up correctly all the compile enviroment...
Pete
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:07 pm

Post by Pete »

woah! that'd be cool. what's the movie cover - actually compiling a mfc app with express? i'm on my mac right now and don't have a wmv player on it. what were the errors? *couldn't find stdafx* is a sure sign it's not liking the mfc issue.

[edit posted at the same time as fede. does this cover express for people who don't have mfc? my error comment was to andy]
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR »

hmm. the video acted as though express has mfc, yet when i try to compile i get constant errors about included mfc files not being found, yes related to stdafx.h (included files from that file not found). :/ however, stdafx seemed to exist. if i delete the includes not foung, i get over ~800 compile errors :!:
Pete
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:07 pm

Post by Pete »

yeah it's been a while since i fooled with it. stdafx might be in the rf source but it calls on stuff from mfc. i think cstring is defined in one of those includes (afxwin? something like that). so every occurance = error. i'll try to check out the vid tonight...
User avatar
jonas
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by jonas »

157 errors is better then the 500 errors I get when trying to compile rf with dev-cpp
Jonas

Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR »

YES! if you have platform sdk installed, look under "include/mfc"! it has mfc!! compiling now... needs iostream.h. anyone know where to find that?

hmm. it seems it wants some old style stuff needed to compile rf.
User avatar
jonas
Posts: 779
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:43 pm
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by jonas »

dev-cpp has iostream

it should too! Thats wierd, that it doesn't have it I thought iostream was a vital part of cpp. I would search your computer and see if you have it hidden somewere.
Jonas

Focused, hard work is the real key to success. Keep your eyes on the goal, and just keep taking the next step towards completing it. If you aren't sure which way to do something, do it both ways and see which works better. - John Carmack
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR »

ahh, was in the main vc++ include folder without the .h extension. copied, renamed to .h, and bingo. now fixing many, many miccelaneous errors that apparently msvc6 didnt care about but 8 does... picky picky...
Pete
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 2:07 pm

Post by Pete »

cool! i haven't been able to watch the vid cause of a missing codec i'm too lazy to find. sounds like progress though - awesome! check out hike's thread about compilng in any compiler in the programming forum... maybe help?

[edit... dling xpress now!]
User avatar
QuestOfDreams
Site Admin
Posts: 1520
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 11:12 pm
Location: Austria
Contact:

Post by QuestOfDreams »

Code: Select all

#include <iostream.h> 
etc is old style, you're now supposed to use

Code: Select all

#include <iostream>
(without the .h extension)
don't ask me why this was changed (in my opinion it just breaks old code...)
Post Reply