Arch's, Pipes, or any structure with curves

Post topics regarding Level Building/Design and Entity Usage with Reality Factory
User avatar
msx
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm

Arch's, Pipes, or any structure with curves

Post by msx »

If I understand what I have been reading correctly, if I want arch's, piping, or anything with a curve then I need to do it with another editor like Gmax or something and then import it and put it into my level?

Also I think I read in the documentation or in the forum that there is no collision for these imported objects? If that is true then can I take an exact copy of the object and turn it into a player clip and put it in the same spot as the object in question so that there will be collision (understand what I mean?)? Also can imported objects have scripts attached to them? Like let's say I wanted to blow up some piping for example, could I attach the DetructroyableModel script to it? What about the player clip model (if that holds true), could I attach a DestroyableModel to it as well and have both of them be destroyed at the same time?

Ok enough questions for one post!
Last edited by msx on Fri Aug 04, 2006 11:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis »

Yes, I would say that's the best way to do it.
Pain is only psychological.
User avatar
msx
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm

Post by msx »

Ummm...I think I was editing this when you replied Juutis, so now have a look at it, it has become a multi questionaire. =)
User avatar
ZenBudha
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by ZenBudha »

You can make cruved geometry with just RFEditPro. An archway for example is just 3 rectangular cubes, and 4 small steps set to slope, and 2 more small cubes. Together they make a pretty good archway.
Pipes as well can be done but are likely better to be modelled.

to make it destructible simply make it a pawn, and when destroyed have it replaced with the destroyed version of the model. As well to the being destroyed effect you may have to attach, and call from script some particle emitters, and or flipbooks.

Basically any kind of geometry can be created with the simple tools of RFEditPro. It cannot make concave geometry but that doesn't mean several convex pieces cannot be used to form concave geometry.
Fear not the textures for the almighty stylus is with thee - Book of Zen
User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis »

Ummm...I think I was editing this when you replied Juutis, so now have a look at it, it has become a multi questionaire. =)
Ahh yes, indeed.

I haven't played around with the level editor too much, so someone else may know these thing better, but I'll try to exlain as good as I can.

The levels consist mainly of two things: 'BSP geometry' and 'actors'.


'BSP geometry' is the brushes that you create in the level editor (RFEditPro, RFEdit, WorldEdit etc...). I'm not sure, but BSP is the fastest in collision detection, right? So create the rooms, terrain and other big things like that in BSP.


'Actors' are .act files in the media/actors folder. These are the things that you create in a 3D modeling program (Blender, MilkShape3D, GMax...) and then import to RF with the Actor Studio program (located in /tools folder). Actors can be used to give form to three different entities: 'Pawn', 'StaticEntityProxy' and 'StaticMesh'.

Pawn are mostly used to create NPCs, like enemies. Pawns are the only entitys that can have a script (there's some sample scripts in /scripts folder).

StaticEntityProxy and StaticMesh entitys are, naturally, static. They're perfect for decorating your level with details. Something like a cup of coffee is best to do with them. They also have different kind of options, for example you can set a StaticEntityProxy to die when it takes damage.

You can define different kinds of collision types for actors (or 'the imported objects') depending on what kind of entity you use them in.
For example StaticMesh can have per poly collision and bounding box collision.


The DestroyableModel entity is attached to a BSP brush. That way you can make a block of BSP geometry disappear.
Pain is only psychological.
Jay
RF Dev Team
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 1:56 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Jay »

Yes it's right that BSP has the fastest collison detection. StaticMEsh collsion detection is ok with small models but with a huge model with many many polys like a landscape it will slow everything down.

However, Actors render faster than BSP...
The best way when using a big thing like a landscape is to render it as an actor, i mean you build it in the modelling program and then export it to RF, and then have the modell exactly like the actor as BSP geometry.
The BSP geometry should be made out of clip-brushes. Clip brushes don't render but have collison detection.
So, while you have collision detection with BSP, you don't need the StaticMesh-collison-detection. Just leave the ColCheckLevel at 0. Ah and if you don't need lighting on the mesh set the UseFillColor-flag of the StaticMesh to true. This gives extra speed, cause no lighting is calculated, instead the fill color is used to light the whole mesh at once.

StaticEntityProxys (SEPs) are best used when you have something small, because they have boundingbox-collision(AABB-Collision). A plus of SEPs is that they can cast StencilShadows, which StaticMeshes can't.


Ok enough explanation about this, i hope.
Ah yes and welcome to the forums! :D
Everyone can see the difficult, but only the wise can see the simple.
-----
User avatar
msx
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm

Post by msx »

OK thanks everyone for the detailed info, it has really helped me understand better what is going on. =D
Ah yes and welcome to the forums!
Thank you!
User avatar
ZenBudha
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by ZenBudha »

Another thing you can do is rough out your level in RFEditPro and then export it to your 3D modeller to make the level. Then once you import your level you already have your BSP to use for collision.

Rather than trying to build BSP around a model which is no fun at all.
Fear not the textures for the almighty stylus is with thee - Book of Zen
User avatar
msx
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm

Post by msx »

That sounds even better Zen, and I may in fact do that instead.

But I have another question (yes I know more questions!, sowry),

Can I make a level in Gmax or other program and then import the whole thing instead of using RFeditpro? I mean just as an alternative.

(I think Zen sort of already answered this question, but I had to ask to be sure, I don't want to spend days building a level in another program only to find out that I can't use it, I mean if I can make pipes and stuff in another program and import them, then why not a whole level as well, but I just wanted to be on the safe side and ask anyway)
User avatar
AndyCR
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by AndyCR »

Yes, you can, but you would still need to follow the same rules you would with BSP levels, IE no concave meshes, etc.
User avatar
ZenBudha
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 6:06 am
Contact:

Post by ZenBudha »

Thats only if you want to import the level as a .map then you can have no concave meshes.

Basically the level you make in your modelling package is just for looks. The original map you make in RFEditPro does all the collision.

However I will be honest and tell you it's still a pain. Thats why I'm still experimenting with it but remain doing levels with just RFEditPro. I dunno if any of my screenshots are still around but once you get the hang of it some very nice levels can be made with simple bsp geometry.
Fear not the textures for the almighty stylus is with thee - Book of Zen
User avatar
msx
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm

Post by msx »

Alright thanks guys.
hike1
RF FAQ-Keeper
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Post by hike1 »

Can I make a level in Gmax or other program and then import the whole thing instead of using RFeditpro? I mean just as an alternative.
Check out 'gamebuilder.zip' on my DL page, it's a GMAX
script that makes interesting levels.

http://terrymorgan.net/download.htm

RF FAQ http://terrymorgan.net/rffaq.zip
User avatar
msx
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:50 pm

Post by msx »

Thanks hike1, alot of interesting stuff there!
hike1
RF FAQ-Keeper
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Post by hike1 »

RF FAQ-Keeper
Gee, I went from "RF Dev Team" to "RF -FAQ-Keeper" is that
up, down, or sideways?
Post Reply