Page 8 of 15
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:06 pm
by vrageprogrammer
Thanx!
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:51 pm
by Snake (like in MGS)
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 3:55 am
by Agentarrow
s okay, we all make mistakes
Posted: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:11 am
by Agentarrow
So, anyway, I finally got RF working correctly. Once I get an idea for the aliens, I'll model them and put them in, after that, I'll run a few tests and stuff, and assemble the first Terra Trooper demo. One thing tho, whenever I set Zeth as the main player, it still shows up as Virgil... How do I change that?
P.S The first demo will use the RF Menu, HUD, and weapons. those will change as time goes on but I have many things to learn, like making a menu and making a HUD, making an ammo counter, etc. I'll take it as it comes.
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:42 am
by Snake (like in MGS)
open the .ini editor in the tools folder. It will contain the anwser to your cryptic question.....
Posted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:02 am
by Agentarrow
thx, and with modeling, testing, scripting, etc. Expect the first of probably 4 or 5 demos about a month or two after I get the alien concept I like. any pics from the RF community would be GREAT!
(yes, I said 4 or 5, the first is to get your oppinion, the rest are just upgrades as time goes on.
The demo will not have the beginning of the game, it'll have a part from about 30% through, It'll be the TT headquarters with the Zeth Black boss fight at the end, no cutscenes yet, but Juutis got me the script a while ago and I just kept it.
RE- Alien
Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:06 pm
by Snake (like in MGS)
This site has 2 alien models. I haven't downloaded them but the models I
did download were high quality. Hope this helps.
The site is:
http://translate.google.com/translate?u ... en&ie=UTF8
Posted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 9:41 pm
by Agentarrow
I appreciate the gesture, but I need something from scratch, not so much from a site like that.
Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 3:30 am
by Agentarrow
hmmm... My demo is a bit further off than I expected... All my scripts vanished, so I have to re-do all my pawns. And It took me a long time to do those scripts, seeing as I got them in pieces from friends. Anyone know a good scripting tutorial?
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:10 am
by steven8
Agentarrow wrote:hmmm... My demo is a bit further off than I expected... All my scripts vanished, so I have to re-do all my pawns. And It took me a long time to do those scripts, seeing as I got them in pieces from friends. Anyone know a good scripting tutorial?
Vanished????
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 4:32 am
by Agentarrow
I was doing a tidying up, getting rid of old files, putting all my RF stuff into one folder, basic file organization... and my scripts got lost in the mix, I ran at least a dozen searches and checked my recycle bin but they were gone, as well as my Helios model, My Terra Cycle, My Terra Fighter, but thankfully I had Zeth backed up so I didn't lose him. I'm modeling some new stuff, and it seems to be going well, Plus, I'm planning on making better models
I'm also making some changes to the storyline, Zeth Black no longer has the four arms during his boss fight, and theres a few other things too...
but my question still stands, Does anyone here know of a good scripting tutorial, to teach me the basics?
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:06 am
by steven8
Oh man.
That stinks. I think the best basic scripting tutorial is in Dan's RF3D book.
Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:25 am
by Agentarrow
thx
I'll make the most of it though, My new Helios is twice the model my old one was with the same number of polys. So As I get better, so will my models
Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:41 pm
by Agentarrow
hmmmmm... I was expiramenting with my own scripting, and it appears that my script doesn't work. My robot just idles.
{
Spawn[()
{
Console(true);
AttributeOrder("health",20,"Die");
FindTargetOrder(200,"Alert","health");
SetFOV(360);
HostilePlayer(true);
HostileSame(false);
HostileDifferent(false);
SetGroup("Enemy");
}]
Alert[()
{
PlayerDistOrder(-256,"LostTarget");
AnimateStop(“alert”,0,””);
NewOrder(“Attack”);
}]
LostTarget[()
{
BlendToAnimation("idle", 1, false,"");
FindTargetOrder(200,"Alert","health");
Attack[()
{
RotateToPlayer(“wattack”, 160, false, ””);
FireProjectile(“pistolbullet”,”HandR”,0,0,0,”health”,””);
if (self.player_range>96)
{
MoveForward("wkattack",50,50,"");
}
else
{
Delay(“stattack”,1,””);
MoveForward("wkattack",50,50,"");
RestartOrder();
}]
}]
Die[()
{
PlayerDistOrder(0,"");
FadeOut(0,2);
NewPoint(:point01");
RotateToAlign("idle",500,false,"");
TeleportToPoint(“point01”);
FadeIn(255,5);
AttributeOrder("health",20,"Die");
NewOrder(“LostTarget”);
Remove(true);
AddExplosion("GrenadeExplosion","Root",0,0,0);
if(random(1,10)>5)
{
AnimateStop("die1",0,"");
}
else
{
AnimateStop("die2",0,"");
}
}]
}
is there a problem with it? I followed Dan's manual...
Posted: Fri Dec 28, 2007 11:24 am
by Jay
Agentarrow wrote:
LostTarget[()
{
BlendToAnimation("idle", 1, false,"");
FindTargetOrder(200,"Alert","health");
Attack[()
{
RotateToPlayer(“wattack”, 160, false, ””);
FireProjectile(“pistolbullet”,”HandR”,0,0,0,”health”,””);
if (self.player_range>96)
{
MoveForward("wkattack",50,50,"");
}
else
{
Delay(“stattack”,1,””);
MoveForward("wkattack",50,50,"");
RestartOrder();
}]
}]
You seem to have an order inside another order. I am not sure if this is going to work, so this may be the problem. Hope this helps