Page 2 of 3
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:13 pm
by MakerOfGames
Changed the center object to 256x64 and no luck. All I have is this. And that is what I got after I copied the Health code from Hike1 and changed the position and name of the frame and indicator. I can't seem to get more than this no matter what I try.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:16 pm
by MakerOfGames
Just so I dont have to edit:
Note its the 311x50 pixel bitmap frame with alpha that is showing.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:18 pm
by MakerOfGames
steven8 wrote:They don't have to be a power of 2, as you actually tell the engine what size to draw the image on the screen. You, however, have to cut out the center of the alpha frame to allow the indicator to show. I got it to show by doing that.
Cut out the center of the alpha frame? That worked? What do you mean by cut it out?
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:22 pm
by steven8
But you are using the a_white_frame_center as your alhpa for the frame. I cut out that center rectangle, and the indicator show through. The alpha map has to have a cutout to let the indicator show through. I didn't resize anything.
I'll grab a screen and post it up.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:25 pm
by steven8
I grabbed a rectangle in of it in irfanview and cut selection to make it white. then saved it back to the same file.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:27 pm
by MakerOfGames
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:30 pm
by MakerOfGames
YEAH!! Now with a little tweaking I will get what I want. Thanks again! That was driving me crazy. I just applied the 192,192,192 gray to the center of the a_white_frame and the indicator is the desired transparentcy.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:34 pm
by MakerOfGames
Now, wait a second, I just realized, is that the indicator showing up or is that the white_frame shoing up? Did you test it with applying damage?
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:39 pm
by MakerOfGames
I did what you said, make it white, but that seems to be the white_center showing. I changed player health to 50 in the player.ini and got this:
The same result when I cut the center out of the frame alpha.
Well, I reached my upload limit... Guess I need to delete some pics in other posts... I need to get an online place to post all these images...
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:40 pm
by steven8
Okay, I've been looking at it. I had a black center, which I though was your indicator, but now that I changed the color, all I had was white. I'm still checking. We are on the right track, but it is not quite right. thing is, also, we were calling it vertical, when it is horizontal. Correct?
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:41 pm
by QuestOfDreams
Ok, I actually tried your bitmaps and they work fine, but there are 2 things:
make sure that in the playersetup entity in your level you specified the correct attribute file (in the basic level that ships with RF it is attribute.ini, in other levels it may be player.ini or something else)
in the hud.ini add
[health]
type = horizontal
frame = hud\white_frame_center.bmp
framealpha = hud\a_white_frame_center.bmp
indicator = hud\center_black.bmp
indicatoralpha = hud\a_center_black2.bmp
framex = 169
framey = -55
indicatoroffsetx = 6
indicatoroffsety = 5
indicatorwidth = 300
your health bar is definitly horizontal; for a horizontal indicator you only need to specify the indicatorwidth, indicatorheight is not used; active is true by default
btw, there's an edit button for posts in this forum
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:48 pm
by Juutis
Oh, other sizes work too... well, you learn something new every day.
Thank you for correcting me, by the way.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:51 pm
by QuestOfDreams
I wasn't quite sure about it, too. However keeping the size of your images a power of 2 is always a good idea.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:51 pm
by steven8
Son of a gun!! And here it is with 50 % health to start.
I was way out on a limb. This is marked horizontal, with all you original bitmaps. and I knew about the player.ini and forgot to mention it.
I used QOD's hud.ini text, except I erased the hud/ [art of the bitmap paths.
I am so sorry. I got twisted around myself, and took you with me. Thank you, QOD.
Posted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 3:53 pm
by MakerOfGames
Ok, I copied the Health section code of yours QuestOfDreams, but now I have a black line right on the left edge of the health bar frame. Also, I dont have attribute.ini, only player.
Also, I cant make a verticla health bar if its wider than it is tall?
EDIT: in player.ini health is so:
Code: Select all
[health]
initial = 50
low = 0
high = 100
HUD.ini is so:
Code: Select all
[health]
type = horizontal
frame = hud\white_frame_center.bmp
framealpha = hud\a_white_frame_center.bmp
indicator = hud\center_black.bmp
indicatoralpha = hud\a_center_black2.bmp
framex = 169
framey = -55
indicatoroffsetx = 6
indicatoroffsety = 5
indicatorwidth = 300