automated cut scene

Topics regarding Scripting with Reality Factory
scott

automated cut scene

Post by scott »

i need some help with scripting, i have never done it before and havnt got a clue so i need easy and simple steps.

i am trying to get a croud of people, (virgil) to move farwards to a point and then stop, and do idel animation, and then random running around.

its for a scene where lots of pople, wich is virgil in different skins walking up to a wall and then set alite and they start running randomly for a few seconds.

i dont know if this is even possible and if not will probably just try and get a cut scene from milkshape to look good.

as i sed im a noob at this so start from the very begining please.
*GD*
Juutis

Post by Juutis »

It is possible to do such a thing, it's quite easy too.

A total noob, eh? Well... I'll try to explain the basics as well as I can.
You should read the Pawn Scripting section of the Online Help. Andy's basic pawn tutorial should help too (http://www.freewebs.com/andycr/pawns.htm). Scripts are made of orders which contain all the commands that control pawns. All the commands are listed in the Online Help.

Ok, so let's start building that script. It always starts with a "{" and ends with a "}". Let's add our first order. The basic order layout is in the Online Manual.
Let's call the first order "Spawn". We get something like this:
{

Spawn[ ()
{

} ]

}
Now the pawn won't do anything, because he doesn't have any commands. So let's add our first command. MoveForward-command sounds useful here. Every line ends with a ";".
{

Spawn[ ()
{

MoveForward("WALK",10,500,"WALKSOUND");

} ]

}
You need to change WALK to your moving animation and WALKSOUND to the sound you want to be played while the pawn is moving(If you don't want any sound to be played, use just ""). 10 indicates the speed at which he is walking and 500 indicates how far away he is going to walk. You can change all of these if you want.