Page 1 of 2

3 Questions

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 6:58 am
by miccy2000
That's right, yet another annoying question from a confused newbie, who spends hours doing something and then screwing it up. Please be nice and help me out.

Q1. What is the best type of entity to use for an enemy to shoot at and have attack you in a FPS game (I think it's a pawn, but I really don't know).

Q2.How do I assign animations and AI to the player and enemies?

Q3. How can I save wasted hours on making a level that doesn't run because of something to do with GSP.lib (whatever that is)? I spent ages making a level, and the only way it can be previewed is if I untick BSP, and that just places me in a box with baseball head walls.

Any help would be... helpful.

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:05 am
by steven8
Q1. What is the best type of entity to use for an enemy to shoot at and have attack you in a FPS game (I think it's a pawn, but I really don't know).
Pawn.
Q2.How do I assign animations and AI to the player and enemies?
Pawn Scripts, in the script folder. Such as GenericMelee.s. When you use a pawn entity, you assign a script to that pawn. The script is what tells that pawn how to act.

Q3. How can I save wasted hours on making a level that doesn't run because of something to do with GSP.lib (whatever that is)? I spent ages making a level, and the only way it can be previewed is if I untick BSP, and that just places me in a box with baseball head walls.
Not 'quite' sure about this one. I have never had to uncheck the bsp before, but I have had issues where a level won't run. Can you please post the error message(s).

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:42 pm
by miccy2000
Thanks a lot! That really helped me out. Don't worry about question 3 though, I started my level from scratch and fixed it all up.

Be back later no doubt with more silly questions! :lol:

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:51 pm
by miccy2000
Wow, back already. Hey, I know someone probably asked this before (duh) but more questions.

1. How do I get guns into first person mode(and if possible, 3rd person too)?

2. Where can I get some crosshairs? Is there a site or do I make my own?

3. Is there any way to give the player hand to hand combat ability (just the basic ones I viewed in the actor viewer)?

4. Almost forgot, how do I get gun animations? And I know this was mentioned somewhere else but how can I get some realistic blood to splash from a damaged player/pawn?

Thanks for your patience and help alex8, it's really patient and helpful of you.

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 7:53 pm
by miccy2000
Oh yeah, how do I select which actor to use for my pawn (where do I type the model name)?

Posted: Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:34 pm
by scott
to get from first to third person modes its the F buttons at the top of the keyboard F1 i belive is first person and either F2 or F3 is third not sure.

crosshairs you can make your self, implimenting them im not sure on thats the HUD (heads up display) the options shown around the screen such as health, amunition, energy and so on.

hand to hand combat animations, im not sure on, if you are creating your own player you need to animate that model for hand to hand combat, but not sure on the state of virgil havnt used RF for some time, ever since they removed the gun from the start position.

Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:25 am
by miccy2000
How do you edit the player HUD? Can someone help with that please?

Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 2:28 am
by steven8
Under install folder, you will find the hud.ini file. Open it in notepad, then take a look at this link to explain what you are seeing:

http://dhost.info/realityfactory/onlinehelp/HUD.htm

Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 7:25 am
by Juutis
scott wrote:crosshairs you can make your self, implimenting them im not sure on thats the HUD (heads up display) the options shown around the screen such as health, amunition, energy and so on.
In fact you can crosshairs are defined in the weapon.ini file. Every weapon can have a different crosshair. It is defined with these lines:

crosshair =
crosshairalpha =

miccy2000 wrote:4. Almost forgot, how do I get gun animations? And I know this was mentioned somewhere else but how can I get some realistic blood to splash from a damaged player/pawn?
Gun animations, do you mean creating them or getting them to RF?
Anyway, you can create animations with 3D modeling programs (like MilkShape3D) and then import to RF with the Actor Studio. Then you need to define those animations in the weapon.ini file. There's some good info in the Online Help

Then the blood splashes...
That's not an easy task. You could script a pawn to shoot projectiles around it when it is damaged and have those projectiles paint blood decals on the walls.
Realism... that's up to you and your artistic skills. :)

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:07 am
by miccy2000
Anyway, forgetting all that, can somebody help me with the pawns? I can get the pawn symbol on the map, but I don't know how to load a character.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:21 am
by steven8
http://dhost.info/realityfactory/onlinehelp/Pawn.htm

This is fro mthe online help. Every entity is explained in the online help and gives you at least a rough idea of how to set it's properties. Give this a go.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:52 am
by miccy2000
Okay, i will, thanks.

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 2:56 am
by steven8
You're welcome. When it comes time to assign a script to a pawn, remember that the scripts are located in the C:\RealityFactory\Scripts folder. You must type in the whole script name, such as genericmelee.s

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 6:01 am
by miccy2000
I can get the pawns on my map, but they never work in the preview. It says:

Bitmap Manager

Missing conversation\man.bmp or Missing Path

Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:23 pm
by steven8
RF has what it calls a Bitmap Manager, and this tracks and 'manages' all of the bitmaps you call for in your game. Your pawn is calling for man.bmp in the media\bitmaps\conversation folder and it is not there.

Now, what pawn script are you trying to use? If you just want your pawn to just hang out and attack your player, try genericmelee.s. It's in the samples folder within the scripts folder of your install.