scripted player + scripted ragdoll Demo!!!

Topics regarding Scripting with Reality Factory
federico
RF Dev Team

scripted player + scripted ragdoll Demo!!!

Post by federico »

First I suggest you to download the RFwithPhysics demo of january and patch it with the ragdoll demo series that I created when I initially developped ragdolls.
you can find all the resources here:
http://realitychess.altervista.org/physics/
Next...
I have to stop my dev work for some time and I don't want to leave you waiting too much so I created a demo of my dev stage both on scripted player and ragdoll. Either are base on the huge use of scripts so don't expect anything too fast. I'm not a programmer even if I learned something surfing the RF source, so I develop by script and then I could start integrating the work in the source.
This RF version uses 075A with the Nout's Tokamak Physics integration and features several changes I made of the camera code and new pawn scripting. Currently my code is quite messy but I can provide the whole modifications soon. It's quite stable but I suggest to exit and relaunch Rf every time you want to restart to have the better performance.
The demo could be made better but it's better than nothing. The level is a reskinning of the demolevel contained in the QoD RF package (sorry QoD, I'm a terrible level designer...). The ragdoll collision should be faster and better (the arms expecially). The AI is completely rewritten so the enemy attacks choosing random actions but organized in sequences (to have something fluid, that's my aim) and patrols around reading the action to perform in the scriptpoint name.