RF is ignoring SkyDome scripts

Post topics regarding Level Building/Design and Entity Usage with Reality Factory
Post Reply
Fireblade
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:46 am

RF is ignoring SkyDome scripts

Post by Fireblade »

This is my first post to the RF forum, I hope this is the right place.

I've been trying to get RF to use a SkyDome script, but no mater what is in the script, I get the same result; a blue sky, a few tiny clouds that don't move, and an orange sun that looks like dark orange paint. I'm certain that the script files are in the correct directory (\scripts) because when I use a non-existing script name for the SkyDome an empty script with that name is created in that directory. No matter what script I use, it's the same. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong here?
User avatar
federico
RF Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Contact:

Post by federico »

post the parameters you use on the Skydome entity. If your script is in the script folder you don't have to specify it in the filename parameter (script/skydome.s is wrong, simply skydome.s is right).
Fireblade
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:46 am

Post by Fireblade »

That's not the problem, I was doing that to begin with. I was just saying that I was already placing everything where it was supposed to go and RF still didn't seem to notice.
User avatar
Juutis
Posts: 1511
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 12:46 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Juutis »

Well, posting the script and the entity definition in the level editor would really help us solve this one...
It's kinda hard to know where the problem is if you just tell us 'it doesn't work'. :)

Welcome to the forums, by the way. :D
Pain is only psychological.
Fireblade
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:46 am

Post by Fireblade »

The contents of Sky2.s
{
Start[ ()
{
SetHeightOrigin(-1000);
SetLandscapeSize(40200);
SetSkyDome(4920, 128);
SetDesiredTriangles(1024);
SetTerrain("flat.bmp", "desert256.bmp");
SetDistanceFromSunFactor(40200);
SetTwilightDistanceFromHorizon(0.6);
SetLocation(920, 10, 16, 23);
SetTwilightColor(255, 101, 114, 255);
SetSkyColor(116, 208, 241, 255);
SetTimeScale(512);
DisableSun(false);
SetSunColor(255, 226, 146, 255);
SetSunScale(8);
SetAmbientLightColor(128, 128, 128, 128);
DisableCloud(false);
UseSkyFog(true);
} ]

Run[ ()
{
SetWindDirection("northeast");
} ]
}
I manually entered the entity attributes
Enable True
InitOrder <empty>
origin -105, -968, -1000
ScriptName Sky2.s
StartOrder <empty>
This is really strange. I know it looks in the file because if I fill it with junk I get a black sky, but changing the values of the perameters does nothing to the appearance of the skydome, I still get the opaque dark orange sun, even if I set DisableSun(true);
User avatar
federico
RF Dev Team
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:14 pm
Contact:

Post by federico »

InitOrder must be 'Start' and StartOrder must be 'Run' according with your script.
Tell us if it works this way...
hike1
RF FAQ-Keeper
Posts: 607
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Post by hike1 »

Fireblade
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:46 am

Post by Fireblade »

I set the InitOrder and StartOrder the way you said, and it works perfectly, thank you so much :mrgreen:
Post Reply