Page 1 of 1
Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:59 am
by Digitalboy
Hi guys.How are you doing?
.
Well i was trying some basic things in my level(messages,attributes,etc).but there is a problem i cant solve.
i want that when i pick up an attribute it then triggers a message AND trigger something else(say a movingplatform) i tried all sorts of logic gates but had no luck.
(my problem isn't the message,it is the second thing i want to trigger)
Thanks
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 5:05 am
by darksmaster923
Can you post the entity properties?
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:35 am
by Digitalboy
Sure.Here you go.
Some explanation:With my current settings,when i collect the artifact(attribute) the message shows up correctly and disappears but the platform only twitches a bit(i know its because of the callback state which last only a second and cant trigger the platform completely) but any logicgate type besides 6 cant trigger the message.
i even tried putting a trigger so that when i collect the artifact,the logicgate triggers the message and this one triggers the platform.but it only triggers the message.
Hope these made sense.
oh and the message setting:
DisplayType:static
Origin:0 0 0
Szentityname:
TextName:Yellart
Triggernme:logic1
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 3:15 am
by darksmaster923
Replace trigger1name for the logicgate with logic1. The szEntityName can be anything, but the trigger name is what you need to match
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:54 am
by Digitalboy
i really didn't get it.
"logic1" is the name i chose for the logicgate(entityname) and it is used to trigger the message and "artifact"(Trigger1) is the attribute that when i collect it,it triggers the logicgate .if i replace it with trigger1name the whole logic makes no sense.
could you be more specific?
i dont know.maybe i should upload my level....
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:24 pm
by darksmaster923
The szEntityName is the name of the trigger entity. Not the actual trigger, that is defined by the triggername
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:50 pm
by QuestOfDreams
@darksmaster
what you're saying doesn't make any sense.
@Digitalboy
I think your setup should be correct, I'll try it out later.
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:00 pm
by Juutis
Add another LogicGate with type 9 - always on.
Attribute:
LogicGates:
Code: Select all
szEntityName = logic1
Trigger1Name = artifact
Type = 6
Code: Select all
szEntityName = logic2
Trigger1Name = logic1
Type = 9
Message:
MovingPlatform:
Code: Select all
bAutoStart = false
bLooping = true
bNoCollide = true
bOneShot = false
bReverse = true
bRunFromList = false
bRunTimed = false
bRunToNextEvent = false
bRunWhileTrig = true
bShoot = false
TriggerName = logic2
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 8:04 pm
by QuestOfDreams
You beat me to it. Just wanted to post the same
This solution is correct and tested.
Re: Hard time with Triggers!
Posted: Sun Sep 06, 2009 1:51 am
by Digitalboy
Booyah!!! Thanks guys,It works perfect now.