Page 1 of 1

RF is ignoring SkyDome scripts

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:25 am
by Fireblade
This is my first post to the RF forum, I hope this is the right place.

I've been trying to get RF to use a SkyDome script, but no mater what is in the script, I get the same result; a blue sky, a few tiny clouds that don't move, and an orange sun that looks like dark orange paint. I'm certain that the script files are in the correct directory (\scripts) because when I use a non-existing script name for the SkyDome an empty script with that name is created in that directory. No matter what script I use, it's the same. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong here?

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 10:00 am
by federico
post the parameters you use on the Skydome entity. If your script is in the script folder you don't have to specify it in the filename parameter (script/skydome.s is wrong, simply skydome.s is right).

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:35 pm
by Fireblade
That's not the problem, I was doing that to begin with. I was just saying that I was already placing everything where it was supposed to go and RF still didn't seem to notice.

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:42 pm
by Juutis
Well, posting the script and the entity definition in the level editor would really help us solve this one...
It's kinda hard to know where the problem is if you just tell us 'it doesn't work'. :)

Welcome to the forums, by the way. :D

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:34 pm
by Fireblade
The contents of Sky2.s
{
Start[ ()
{
SetHeightOrigin(-1000);
SetLandscapeSize(40200);
SetSkyDome(4920, 128);
SetDesiredTriangles(1024);
SetTerrain("flat.bmp", "desert256.bmp");
SetDistanceFromSunFactor(40200);
SetTwilightDistanceFromHorizon(0.6);
SetLocation(920, 10, 16, 23);
SetTwilightColor(255, 101, 114, 255);
SetSkyColor(116, 208, 241, 255);
SetTimeScale(512);
DisableSun(false);
SetSunColor(255, 226, 146, 255);
SetSunScale(8);
SetAmbientLightColor(128, 128, 128, 128);
DisableCloud(false);
UseSkyFog(true);
} ]

Run[ ()
{
SetWindDirection("northeast");
} ]
}
I manually entered the entity attributes
Enable True
InitOrder <empty>
origin -105, -968, -1000
ScriptName Sky2.s
StartOrder <empty>
This is really strange. I know it looks in the file because if I fill it with junk I get a black sky, but changing the values of the perameters does nothing to the appearance of the skydome, I still get the opaque dark orange sun, even if I set DisableSun(true);

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:40 pm
by federico
InitOrder must be 'Start' and StartOrder must be 'Run' according with your script.
Tell us if it works this way...

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:02 pm
by hike1

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 9:25 pm
by Fireblade
I set the InitOrder and StartOrder the way you said, and it works perfectly, thank you so much :mrgreen: